Running earphone:Bang & Olufsen beoplay e8 2.0 review

paul geogle
12 min readNov 14, 2023

--

Beoplay E8 is Bang & Olufsen’s first real wireless headset, which delivers high-quality sound effects while showing a simple and stylish design style, bringing users a smooth listening experience anytime and anywhere. The E8 2.0 version improves the design on the basis of the first generation product, further enhancing the user experience: new wireless charging function; 16 hours of use time; 2.0 version of the advanced leather charging box appearance; The wireless charging box is equipped with USB-C port; Four colors are available.There are many related review articles on the Internet, but all of them are from the third-party perspective.This article collects some real user reviews of Bang & Olufsen beoplay e8 2.0 for analysis.

Basic parameter:

Product Dimensions:2.7 x 1.8 x 1.3 inches

Item Weight:10 ounces

ASIN:B07MRWKRBT

Item model number:1646101

Batteries:3 Lithium Ion batteries required.

Manufacturer:Bang & Olufsen

Item Weight:0.29 Kilograms

Units:1.0 Count

Number Of Items:1

Form Factor:In Ear

Bang & Olufsen beoplay e8 earphones review from users:

Product name:Beoplay E8 2.0 Price: $221.42

Rating: 3.2 Where to buy: Amazon or official website.

User review 1:

User:Gracey Nation:United States

“I love my new earphones! I was skeptical to try it as I have never heard of the brand before and they are pretty pricey even on sale but my friend said they are good. So I got the gray ones with a brown leather case on sale. It has a classy look and feel! Easy to pair with my iPhone. Great sound quality! I mainly use it for working out and so far it has not fallen out of my ears even when running on the elliptical. The 16 hours battery life is awesome too. I only tried it once for a phone call, not the best but does the job.

Definitely recommend it for you to try!”

User review 2:

User:Amazon Customer Nation:United States

“The only earbuds I can compare these to, are my old Jaybird X2 which was great except for battery life. This is my first B&O product outside of sound system in my audi which is why I decided to purchase this. For $350 they should have upgraded to Bluetooth 5.0 that is my biggest issue and they became comfortable after an hour but I think I have adjust it with different buds (why is there only 1 Medium foam ear bud). The battery life is a huge plus for me and the chargeable case sold me. I choose these over the Sennheiser because I don’t like aggressive bass and the charging case has issues which will deplete the battery on the earbuds since they are always charging and don’t turn off (in my opinion).”

User review 3:

User:Stephen F Nation:United States

“I’ll try be brief but theres a bit to get through. Bought these as I was looking for a lighter set of headphones to pop in my pocket and to wear to the gym with cables everywhere. I like a wide range of music so they had to play classical to drum and base. Set up was very easy and i was ready to go. These buds are very well made and as you would expect from B&O beautifully designed and the recharging case is not only nice to look at but not too bulky. Its bigger than apple ipods charger but at 6.7X4.5X3.2CM they are not too bulky to fit in a jacket pocket or jeans front pocket. B&O give 4 hours of play time with 16 hours coupled with the recharging case. I’ve found that after 3.5 hours connectivity they start to act up a bit and connectivity and response to touch commands becomes less exact. The case does indeed delivery the promised 16 hours time, I’ve actually had 17–18 hours which was amazing. The touch pads are a bit tricky to get used to. Many have complained that the do not react well and initially i belong to this group. The right bud when playing has three functions. 1 tip = pause/play 2 tips= skip to nex track and 3 tips= Siri. The speed if the touch plays a huge role here. I had been used to other headphones and a quick sucession of tip always seemed to work but here I was getting siri when i didn’t want to or stopping a song instead of skipping. To control these the tip speed if you will has to be slower. Instead of one or onetwo or one two three it 1001 1002 1003. I hope you undestand what i mean as it makes a big difference to really being able to enjoy this product. The sound is amazing, quite simply outstanding. The APP comes with several musics modes with different sound levels but also comes with a setting to create your own listening modes with various levels of base treble etc etc. I haven’t truly heard better sound from such small earbuds.

Okay to the negative. Telephoning with these is difficult. If you are indoors and its quiet then I find them sufficient. If however you are outside or where there is a lot of backgroung noice I find you end up having to shout so the other person can hear you. You can hear everything fine the your call partner will have difficulty hearing you.

Earfit where do I start, everyone has differnt ears and even a person can have slight differences between ears so from the start the one size fits all is difficult to fulfill. The outside of these buds which hold the electrics are approximately 2CM in diameter. Depending on your ear you might have difficulty to get these to sit right. The part that fits into your inner ear comes with enough diffent types of tip size to enable you to find the right one for you. The memory foam tips I personally found poor. They never set to fit my ear always returning to their original state. I wasnt going to leave them in for days to see if this might change. I settled for two of the gray caps one large and one medium.

Once this is set up they fit pretty well and I’ve had them in at work or whil walking around and also at the Gym.

Where they really let me down is running. As soon as you start to sweat, the impact of running made them fall out after ten minutes. After that they just wouldnt stay in and its definitely a combination of sweaty ears and motion. I’m not an engineer but if yu look at the construction the part in your earhole is quite short compared to the size outside. when your ear gets moist the weight outside acts like a lever and prizes itself out of your inner ear. The length of the section that fits in your inner ear is only about a centimeter max the portion outside is about 1.6–1.7cm and with more weight. Gymwork is fine just keep off the treadmills.

Facit these are great to look at with incredible sound but even B&O have their limitations. Would I buy them again, definitely but I didn’t pay full price and would’t pay it again. For what they are the start price is slightly too high and the competition is high. If you want only amazing sound then these are the earbuds for you”

User review 4:

User:Happy Analyzer Nation:United States

“I did many researches for true wireless earbuds, and decided to buy Bang & Olufsen Beoplay E8 2.0.

The sound quality is very good, it is really good.

However there’re some time delays because it has Bluetooth 4.2 not Bluetooth 5.0.

Also, it keeps missing some sound (shortly disconnected?) when I hear music.

It is expensive so I expected much more than the problems I had.

So I returned it.”

User review 5:

User:voldemortified Nation:United States

“These Bang and Olufsen earphones are INCREDIBLY expensive. But if you’re looking for good sound quality in a small package, you really can’t beat these little earphones. The sound quality is incredible; it’s hard to believe it comes from a pair of earbuds. If you’re an audiophile and have the money to spend, these really are a must buy. They also have some really nice features — wireless charging, connection to up to 8 devices, etc.

I knocked one star off the review because these don’t stay in my ears very well. They’ve fallen out more than once while doing everyday things like grocery shopping; I definitely would not trust these if I were going on running or exercising. I wish they had some sort of over-ear attachment to get a really snug, secure fit. But other than that, I absolutely love these earphones.”

User review 6:

User:Amazon Customer Nation:United States

“So , I was excited to get this , I have a sound system by bang and Olufsen, and it is awesome !

These headphones are TERRIBLE, especially for what it costs !!

The sound is flat , you have to push it and hold it into your ear to hear the music , it’s uncomfortable and really bothers my ears , even with the smallest size . It sounds best with the foam tips , but those are still uncomfortable , maybe the sound would be better quality if the piece to insert in your ear was somehow made to fit better .

I read reviews about the sound and I thought maybe some people didn’t know how to adjust it through their phones , but they were right .

Total and complete disappointment!!”

User review 7:

User: E. Talerico Nation:United States

“I’ve never been a big fan of earbuds until now. This set from Bang & Olufson is in a class by itself. The sound is full bodied and satisfying, with remarkable clarity and detail. Stereo imaging is impeccable! The physical design of the earbuds is fantastic. They come in a charging box that is finished with leather. It looks more like a box for fine jewelry than for ear buds! The buds themselves are elegant, with the B&O logo prominently featured on both. Operation is simple — the buds have a touch surface and simple taps control volume or turn them on and off. The fit is very good — they have a unique twist-in feature that makes them very secure compared to most of the other earbuds I’ve tried.

The B&O app isn’t exactly feature rich — it gives you a few simple ways to customize the sound — the most important for me being the transparency setting, which allows me to choose how much outside noise gets in while I’m listening. Settings are from 0–100%, with the best audio being at the zero setting (strongest noise rejection). The volume level is satisfying, but don’t expect deafening loudness — there is surprisingly good bass response!

My only disappointment is that the buds are not entirely secure in my ears. I can’t use these buds for vigorous activities as they pop out unexpectedly. This is a problem I’ve had with every other set of earbuds but since these are wireless, when they pop, they also fall to the ground! So I’ll be using these strictly for in home.”

User review 8:

User:Pouyan Nation:United States

“Short Story:

Don’t buy. At this price point you’re just paying for features which you probably never use or don’t care. (Luxury look, wireless charging)

Long Story:

If you have an active life, running, jogging, biking. NEVER EVER even bother trying it. Trust me. It is NOT an active sporty kind of earbuds. They fall too very often and you don’t feel confident.

Sound quality is the only thing you’re paying for. but if this is your priority, you probably better of buying an over ear headphones at this price.”

User review 9:

User:Joseph Cho Nation:United States

“ When I jumped very hard and shook my face up and down, side by side very hard, E8 stood still (I wore the largest silicone when I did this because my ear holes are pretty big lol). I tried running with them on and it didn’t bother them either. I haven’t tried them when I’m working while sweating but I’m willing to add them in this review if I feel like E8 doesn’t work well with sweats. Again, that outside source of the review I read mentioned E8 is not designed for workouts but who knows. One thing I have in mind about E8 is that because of its great noise cancellation, when I become sweaty, suddenly the whole closed sound experience would be gone. Also, from my experience with in-ear earphones, when I get sweaty, the silicones do not really hold well in my ears. So I guess I (or you) just need to try.”

User review 10:

User:Tomas Montilla Nation:United States

“Pros:

Luxurious leather and chrome materials & fantastic build quality

Great form factor

Top notch noise canceling

Wireless and USB-C charging case

Cons:

Can only pair with one device. Becomes a hassle if say, you have a phone and a smartwatch

Buds do not turn on automatically when you pick them up from their case. You also have to constantly pair them up as the Bluetooth connection gets lost all the time

Separating the buds only pauses playtime if you put the right bud in the case. All other true wireless buds I’ve used pause altogether, which makes way more sense

My buds sometimes would keep on playing music even when both buds where in the case. I had to explicitly pause music and unpair the buds

Fit is ok, but is not as snug for running as I’d hoped. Works fine if you’re stationary

Sound isn’t anything to write home about, and I found the bass to be weaker/softer than average

The biggest offense is the sound latency, which is the worst I’ve seen. Makes watching videos on my phone virtually impossible

Overall, I’d advise against this buy. The pros are minor “nice to haves” that can be found elsewhere. Meanwhile, the cons are major and make using the buds frustrating. Not only that, but none of those issues were present on my Jabra Elite 65t’s which are HALF the price and have better sound and look just as good (one thing though, the Beoplays probably have a longer lasting build, but again, you can buy two Jabra’s with the $ savings).

In short, I wouldn’t buy this product again.”

Most users have given favorable reviews onBang & Olufsen beoplay e8 2.0 earphone, which shows that it is a good product. However, no headrphone is perfect, and it still has some shortcomings, such as overpriced, its in-ear design will easily slide down especially during running and cause discomfort to the ears. If you want to find running headphones that are cost-effective,comfortable and stable to wear in the market, Wissonly Hi Runner bone conduction headphone is a good recommendation.

Hi Runner bone conduction headphones are open-ear design, worn directly on the temple, so your ear canal is completely open, which makes it easy for you to hear the sound of cars and traffic lights in outdoor scenes such as running and walking, which makes you safer when using. Because it is not plug in your ear, you can wear it for a long time without worrying about fatigue or pain in your ear.

In terms of comfort, the overall frame of Wissonly Hi Runner is made of adjustable aviation-grade titanium steel, which can adapt to different sizes of head circumference and ensure the stability of wearing, so that it will not fall during exercise. The surface of its earphones is made of high-tech low-sensitivity silicone material, which does not contain chemical ingredients to avoid allergies. The overall touch of the earphones is as silky as a baby’s skin, avoiding discomfort when worn for a long time. And its weight is very light, less than 30g, so it will not feel heavy when worn. As the flagship outdoor sports model of the Wissonly brand, it is the most comfortable and cost-effective model among all the current bone conduction models.

Wissonly Hi Runner uses the latest Bluetooth 5.0 chip, which makes the Bluetooth connection more stable. Its battery life is also very good, the normal volume can be played continuously for 8–10 hours, which is really good for people who like outdoor sports, even if they go out to climb the mountain all day, do not worry about the battery. It also supports magnetic fast charging, which takes only 2 hours to fully charge.

Wissonly Hi Runner is very waterproof, up to IPX8 rating, can easily cope with sweat, rain, swimming can also be used, and even you can wear it scuba diving, it can be used up to 15 meters underwater, if you accidentally dirty it, you can also wash it directly. For underwater scenarios like swimming, the Hi Runner also has 32GB of built-in memory, because the Bluetooth connection can be unstable when moving underwater. With built-in storage, you can use the headset as an MP3 player and enjoy high-quality music underwater.

In terms of sound quality, this bone conduction headphone uses the latest research results of the wissonly laboratory, which increases the vibration area of the vibrator by 35%. At the same time, it also optimizes the sound transmission direction to make the sound more concentrated and the music more spatial. And it has a good performance in treble and bass.

In terms of price, it only costs $99.99, which is the most cost-effective among the headphones with similar performance.

--

--