Wired On-Ear Headphones for Running: Beats EP Review

paul geogle
10 min readNov 18, 2023

Beats EP on-ear headphones are a new entry-level product created by Beats. From the perspective of solidity, lightness and comfort, the entire product adopts a wired design, removing the built-in battery, and the headband is made of durable and lightweight stainless steel material.

Considering the wearing comfort of users for running, the product incorporates an adjustable vertical slider bar design. Since it is a wired headset, it is equipped with a RemoteTalk line control, which can be easily realized by connecting your IOS device to control phone calls, music switching and volume control.

In terms of sound quality, officials said that after adjustment, the music is purer and thicker, maintaining the brand has always been adhering to the bass aspect of the full and powerful bass. So how are the sound quality and other performance of these headphones for running? Let’s go through the reviews from Amazon users to see what users experience!

Product specifications about Beats EP:

Beats EP reviews from users

Product name: Beats EP

Price: $129.95

Rating: 4.5 (out of 5)

Where to buy: Amazon.com or Official Website

Review 1: ★★★★★

Reviewed in Italy:

“I have always believed that this brand produces high quality products. After the package was delivered to me, I had confirmation.

Given that, I bought the cheapest model for running, at the time of purchase they cost less than €50. But the quality is superb:

First of all, the hard case, of a beautiful cardboard coated internally, finally included inside, a bag of soft cloth, I would say of a beautiful micro fiber, for put the headphones away after using them.

The headphones are beautiful, I chose the blue ones, and they are really nice. The adjustable headband is comfortable and the contrast blue of the headset and silver of the metal parts of the headband is really nice to look at.

Then let’s move on to the sound:

The ear cup is well isolated from external noise and the bass reproduced is excellent, deep and clean for my running. I would say that for the money spent, the quality is super. I’m glad I bought them, now I can listen to my favorite music, in complete relaxation while I am running.

Exemplary shipping.”

Review 2: ★★★★☆

Reviewed in France:

“Bought for my wife who does not want to manage various and varied recharges, this headset offers a great quality/price ratio (50€)

A bit heavy after long listening or running sessions, but the sound is very good, a bit serious for my taste but try only from an iPhone. It is not equipped with external noise reduction but the isolation is still great (my wife can’t hear me anymore… it may not be related only to the headphones…)

Its size may seem quite small, but in the end the comfort and its surface are just what you need.”

Review 3: ★★★☆☆

Reviewed in India:

“This is a really good pair of headphones as beats always is. Few things I want to make sure if you buy this product for exercising ou running, seeing the price you are paying for, it is manufactured very carelessly.

The side edges are not polished, the connected parts are poorly attached. Leather cessions are not kept well. The box itself had a big scratch. Packaging was just a plastic. Packaging is poor. You will get probably the best headphone box, not even my phone had that well box.”

Review 4: ★★☆☆☆

Reviewed in Italy:

“I was looking for an audio headset for running without spending a salary, and I focused on this refurbished black Beats EP from Amazon. Refurbished because it has a defect in the left bracket that practically does not remain fixed when you adjust it while continuing to move. Moreover, the box has several pieces of scotch and is not kept very carefully. Despite this, the audio quality is excellent as per the brand and the style is top notch. I consider the price of 38 euros fairly fair even if, given the flaws, it may not be appropriate. I am not so sure that I would make the purchase again for which I consider it fair to give 2 stars.”

Review 5: ★★★★☆

Reviewed in Germany:

“Had beats solo 2! Wanted to buy solo 3 at Media market for allegedly 109 Euro (black Friday) No Media market had more Solo 3!!!?? Then bought on Amazon for 66 Euro Beats EP! The sound is cool while used them for running, but the headphones are not foldable and you can not pull the cable out of the headphones. The cable is very thin, but has the same sound as a high-quality headphone! So, who wants something cool for little money, buy them, or save on solo 3! In my circle of acquaintances, no one knew what solo EP is, and believed the things would cost over 120 euro! That’s how you can be mistaken! Buy me a pair of higher quality beats soon, because I listen to music about 4 hours a day. Since I am almost blind, I know what sounded good, because my hearing takes over my eyes! This review was written with extreme enlargement on the computer.”

Review 6: ★★★☆☆

Reviewed in Italy:

“I’m doing the review only today, after about a year of use. Medium-low sound and build quality headphones. Very strong bass not too pleasant.

Considering the brand, I expected a little more, especially with regard to robustness. I had them repaired after a few months of use because one of the two headphones had come off the headband while running.

Repair was done free of charge, but they are breaking again. I wouldn’t recommend buying it, at least as far as I’m concerned the next ones will no longer be Beats.”

Review 7: ★★★★☆

Reviewed in Italy:

“I’ll be clear and brief:

PROS:

1) VOLUME: They shoot hard, they have very good input power. The result is that compared to many other headphones of the same level, they have a higher sound volume for the same volume.

2) MATERIALS: without a doubt more than good, impeccable plastics and comfortable imitation leather even if I can’t talk about durability, for that you will have to wait and see.

CONS:

1) Sound: Unbalanced and poorly equalized, even if compared to the usual Beats they have less bass which is certainly positive. In addition to this, of course, some of its competitors at the same price offer a clearer and cleaner sound, these have a certain background noise, although never too annoying (it depends on how much the listener is sensitive and capacious about it in reality).

What else to say, I think I have queued to those who say that they are good headphones all in all but they are not suitable for runners worthy of the name, just to be clear those for whose sound must be crystal clear clean and well equalized throughout the music while running.

At the same price I feel I can recommend the AKG Y50 headphones of the year 2014 excellent for the price with a youthful look worse than these Beats only for the fact that they are used with certain devices Sometimes they don’t reach a sufficient volume of sound and should be amplified more.”

Review 8: ★★★☆☆

Reviewed in Italy:

“Good product for running if purchased at a discount of 40. Already the owner of Beats Studio 3 wireless, these headphones presented themselves well, different materials, good sound but according to my taste, the pavilions are extremely small, the microphone is not quite up to par, not recommended for those with a too big head because they are only slightly adjustable. Attention for those who buy these headphones to play for running, in addition to being uncomfortable, the Jack is not compatible with the PS4 joystick.”

Review 9: ★★★★★

Reviewed in Italy:

“I have to tell the truth: I was skeptical before buying, convinced that it was a product that emphasized bass and the “modern” music full of low frequencies that is going crazy for now. Before buying it, I read several reviews and opinions, and now I can have my say: it is an exceptional purchase!!!

The audio quality is crazy for running, at first listening it seemed to me that I had never listened to music in this way, and to say that in the past I also had Wissonly that I considered excellent, but these are all a another world. Comfortable on my head and ears, I use them mainly to listen to music and movies from my Apple devices. The sound is very balanced, not too focused on emphasizing the bass but more than anything else to make you perceive even details that, honestly, I had not had the opportunity to appreciate before on songs I know memory. I would buy them back a thousand more times, I was also lucky enough to buy them at a very advantageous offer price that made my experience even better. I recommend them to you for your running.”

Review 10: ★☆☆☆☆

Reviewed in the United Kingdom:

“Avoid this product at all costs, absolute waste of money. The first pair broke, requested a replacement which was sent, and then the exact same fault occurred on the replacement pair. I was offered a repair and sent the item away only to be told it would cost £124.12 to repair a product that cost £79.99. These are not fit for purpose for running and I will be taking this matter up with the manufacturer to demand a full refund. It only has one star because I cannot give it a zero rating. I cannot stress this enough — DO NOT BUT THIS ITEM.”

Based on reviews from users of these wired on-ear headphones, we can summarize that most users say these headphones are favorable and suitable for running. However, there are some users who expressed their sadness about the performance of the headphones. Because of their poor quality, they are prone to malfunction when in use. As well as their sound quality just isn’t worth spending about 130 dollars on.

If you need a headphone for running or working out, we recommend the Wissonly Hi Runner bone conduction headphones, which have a more durable quality and will satisfy you in terms of battery life, price or other performance.

Reasons why I recommend these headphones for running:

The team from Wissonly has relatively strong technical strength. They have 10 years of experience in bone conduction product research and development, which is the basis for making good products. Wissonly focuses on the concept of healthy enjoyment of good sound quality. The headphone brand features no harm to the ears, and it is also the first brand to propose the concept of not listening to songs in the ear. The completely open-ear design of Wissonly reduces the damage to the eardrum.

It is the wireless and ear-hanging bone conduction headphones that is very powerful, having a huge 32G build-in memory is one of its main features, and it can store up to 5,000 songs simultaneously. It also supports Bluetooth mode and MP3 mode dual playback, providing great convenience for sports enthusiasts. If your smartphone have no signal or you are not convenient to carry it for running outdoors, you can enjoy music in the MP3 playback mode.

The level of waterproof is IPX8 which is the highest and able to prevents you from using them with rain or sweat while running. In addition, its overall frame is made of adjustable aviation grade titanium steel material, which can adapt to different sizes of head circumference to ensure firm wear and will not fall off easily when running, and it also can cooperate well with sunglasses used for running.

Wissonly Hi Runner bone conduction headphones have a strong battery life, allowing you listen to music for more than 10 hours and it is suitable for hours and hours running. It’s lightweight, only 28 grams, and you can focus on running without feeling the weight in your auricle with the headphones. Moreover, the surface of the headphones is made of soft and skin-friendly silicone material, which is very safe and highly comfortable to wear. It sells at the price for $99.99.

As the flagship model of Wissonly bone conduction headphones, its open-ear design allows you to hear the sound of the surrounding environment while running, safer and more hygienic for runners. However, the open-ear design also makes it inadequate, it’s easy to hear wind noise during running. For runners, however, safety is the most important option. If you’re looking for a pair of practical headphones for running, you can go to its official website for these and have a try to purchase them!

--

--