Some Thoughts on Alignment & Purpose

Connecting with the sweet-spot at work

Erin Partridge
2 min readFeb 6, 2017
Purpose is not optional.

A connection to purpose shows up in many different ways. I had some strong examples last week of how beautiful it is to work in a place I feel so much passion about.

One way this alignment manifests is in interactions with former coworkers. I ran into two previous colleagues at the same after-work learning opportunity; even though we no longer work together, we all three continue to live out the culture of learning encouraged in our shared work history. I also felt a deep sense of connection to these two people as we discussed our work and possible future projects; a healthy workplace encourages relationship-building and creates opportunities for life-long collaboration.

Another example occurred in a meeting with a new professional, exploring her options as an art therapist in the Bay Area. In describing the work I’ve done and what we’re developing at Elder Care Alliance, I felt a surge of joy in talking about the work. It is not just that I love the field of art therapy (though I do) and it is not just that I love work with older adults (though I do)…the joy comes from a deep sense of belonging and support. When I talk about how supported and encouraged I’ve felt over the years, I mean it wholeheartedly. Supported people thrive in the workplace, and they become excellent ambassadors for potential employees or community partnerships.

The third example from last week was another non-work event. I created an image in my art journal to express what I feel, reflecting back on a beautiful evening of story, empowerment, and activism.

As I reflect on the first month in my new position, I recognize the incredible privilege I have to be right in the sweet-spot of purpose.

Originally published at https://www.linkedin.com on February 6, 2017.

--

--