Creativity … Defined As Much As It Can Be Defined

Rick Higgins
7 min readAug 4, 2020
Photo by Alice Dietrich on Unsplash

What exactly is creativity? I’ve often pondered this, but lately it has become a bit of an obsession. A creative obsession, if you will.

This is going to be a difficult article to write, because according to my thesaurus there are only eleven synonyms for the word creativity, not all of which mean what I want them to really mean. So my repetitive overuse of the word ‘creativity’ is going to be difficult to overcome. But you have to start somewhere, so my options are:

cleverness
genius
imagination
imaginativeness
ingenuity
inspiration
inventiveness
originality
resourcefulness
talent
vision

Is my answer is that list? I notice that they didn’t mention things like art, music, or penmanship. So while it leaves me with some options to use instead of just repeating ‘creativity’, I need to dig deeper to find my answer. Much deeper.

So I decided to ask the interwebs.

There, at the top of my search results from Google, was a page from the California State University which had the same title as my query. So I pulled…

--

--

Rick Higgins

Telling stories that need telling. About people helping people, and also our collective home. http://rickhiggins.com