8. A Northern Soul (1995) by The Verve — true northern soul

366 Albums Before 40
2 min readNov 21, 2019

I was about to write something like “The Verve’s first album was a pleasant surprise…”, but as I searched Wikipedia I realized that A Northern Soul is actually the band’s second album. I thought Urban Hymns was the second album. Shows what I know! I feel as if this might happen more and more as the year goes on.

However, A Northern Soul was an enjoyable listen. It epitomizes the Manchester sound and has some Northern grit to match. Richard Ashcroft and his Wigan based band rehearsed for the album in a “dungeon” as Ashcroft described it and the sound of the album certainly reflects that. It sounds dark but doesn’t leave you feeling gloomy. It’s grungy tones are balanced with Ashcroft’s haunting yet comforting lead vocals.

The eponymous track on the album was dedicated to Noel Gallagher and the song stands out as one of the best of the album. As is well known, Gallagher returned the favour by writing ‘Cast No Shadow’ for Ashcroft, also a favourite of mine.

The Verve came to the limelight with Urban Hymns and especially with ‘A Bittersweet Symphony’ and ‘The Drugs Don’t Work’ and that is when I became aware of their music. My…

--

--