2024: This Little Change Ignites Productivity

Perhaps a Timer is what you need for new year

3 Minute Blog
2 min readJan 16, 2024
Photo by Aron Visuals on Unsplash

Tiny but mastery, the discovery of using a timer unexpectedly brings me into next level productivity.

I’ve long been a Pomodoro Technique fan (though 25 minutes is too short, I’m doing 50). But I’m not serious at counting time. I’ll just peek to check whether time’s up. Or sometimes just let my internal clock (accurate in most of the time) remind me.

Recently I bumped into an online timer. I was thinking why not give it a try.

Surprisingly this helps boost my focus – what a burst of productivity!

Whether it’s the iPhone built-in, apps, web or even a sand timer will do. For me, I’d like to use Google timer on a separate screen to prevent me from staring at the phone :)

Here’s why this little trick works.

Lose Touch with Distractions

Productivity can’t keep aspace with the passage of time. Your mind will start wander off.

By confining the rarest resource in the world (time), you’ll play with it cautiously.

A timer let you get that sense of “time is running out”.

You’ll be like working in a tiny space capsule instead of in the Wild West.

Detox Stimulation

With the timer sitting side by side all day, my phone time insanely decreases.

Before, amidst my work sessions I would check out videos of mystery investigations, guitars, NBA, gaming. You know, it’s really hard to get back to real world and in most of the time.

I turn out watching the whole afternoon.

Short stimulation such as social media clips are “Without End” designed. They squeeze dopamine out of your brain – No way home to boring work.

A timer makes me a phone monk. My weekly screen time has decreased 50%.

Hack the Flow

A timer directs you to the present moment fast.

I find it easier to enter the Flow state.

Check out my article on How to Enter the Flow.

Hope You Enjoy the Read

Simple and free tool to get extra productivity, gear up with a timer for your new year!

If you enjoy this blog, why not consider smashing that “Follow” button for more? Hope to see you again!

Here’s my Twitter for inspiration bites💡

Gain full access to all writers.

(The blog represents my personal opinions and should not be considered superior to professional advice.)

--

--

3 Minute Blog

Owns a drinkware supply company. Talks about international e-commerce and eastern philosophy.