There is a Better Way!

400contacts
3 min readOct 31, 2016

--

Francis Awagu is an Independent Consultant OEM and Telcos for Africa at Yandex. He is also an AI and Deep learning Enthusiast. During his time living in Sweden, he was the first to ever finish the 400contacts’ eight-week program.

Arriving in Sweden and starting my job hunt was very challenging to me. I was sending my CV and cover letter to literally hundreds of companies and getting rejection from the majority of all my applications. Then during last spring, I had an informal meeting with a company called Iteam which helped me change my mind.

I was new in Sweden. Not knowing much about the system, how it works and with few people within my connections, a friend invited me to come along for a meeting and I didn’t hesitate. We walked into the conference room, where the CEO and the Creative Director of Iteam were both seated. Iteam is an innovative digital tech company in Stockholm. After introductions, I paused and listened attentively as the conversation unfolded, paying attention to these two tech executives. It was one of the first opportunities I would get to being in the same room and listen to two Swedish tech executive discussing business strategy. It was very interesting.

During the meeting, one sentence kept repeating itself over and over again — there is a better way.

At that time, I didn’t know it is the company’s watchword — it drives the corporate culture, strategy and day to day operations. But the Iteam CEO asserted that when clients approach them with a business case, they try to find a better way to the solution. That got to me. The mantra of always thinking — there is a better way.

I left that meeting struggling with myself. All through that night I couldn’t sleep. I was barely 3 months old in Sweden, battling to find a job, having sent out tons of CV and mass emails to HR managers. Not fully aware I was barely duplicating same CV and cover letter to every position I was applying for. No attempt in customization, or personalized the emails, I failed to recognize something is wrong.

I didn’t know there was a better way!

I realized there are always standard and conventional ways in which we are used to doing things. But there is sometimes also a less common and unconventional way that we can use to achieve better outcomes. In the end of the day, we can all find room for some improvements in our day to day activities. So as we begin this week with unlocking the quest and our pursuit to land a job in Sweden, let’s take a deep breath, look at our approach, and ask ourselves:

  • Is there something I can do differently?
  • Is there a better way to present my CV to talent managers?
  • Is there a better way to customize my cover letter?
  • Is there a better way to draft my first reach out mail to talent managers to get them interested and respond back?
  • Is there a better way to approach the Swedish job market?
  • Are there free courses i can take to upgrade my skill set?
  • Can I propose internship or freelance engagement to get a foot in the door?

The advice I have for you is simple. Take a moment to reflect on your job hunting process now with these questions. Think about the process that you are going through when you apply for jobs and answer the above questions. Be honest with yourself, is there room for improvement?

Find the better way that will work for you.

There is a better way.

Feel free to share this article with someone that you think would like it and feel free to reach me on social media or email.

Francis Awagu
Email: francisawagu@gmail.com
LinkedIn: Francis Awagu
Twitter: Francis Awagu
Facebook: Francis Awagu

--

--

400contacts

400contacts is an app created to help people find a job in eight weeks. Feel free to register at 400contacts.io.