Good News Everyone, It’s Meme Time!

45_49_44_100_Nick
3 min readMar 3, 2018

--

Source: pics.me.me

When browsing the internet, it is likely you would have stumbled across a captioned photo with a relatable message. If you were not aware of what this phenomena is called, I have good news for everyone, this is known as a meme!

The term meme was first coined by Richard Dawkins in The Selfish Gene. The term was derived from the Greek word mimema, which translates to something imitated. Dawkins went on to describe how Natural Selection is not limited to just biological information, and that anything capable of replicating itself can be susceptible to the theory, even ideas and beliefs. In simple terms, just as biology can imitate each other, so can thoughts.

As the internet became popularized in the mid-90s, the term meme became used for any piece of internet content that can be relatable.

Source: pics.me.me

Memes can be used to express a particular memory or emotion that is relatable by majority of the internet users. Memes can vary from technical theatre woes, socially awkward situations, triumphs of success, advice with good intentions, or just silly comedic expressions. The versatility of memes in our current internet culture allow a form of expression in ways traditional media could not. I know my friends and I share memes constantly to have a laugh, or as a focal point for discussion we would never have without a meme expressing a fresh take on the topic

The following table shows the trends of Futurama Memes. the appear to have originated around 2008. popularized in 2012

One of my favourite characters is Prof. Farnsworth. He is known for two main memes: I Don’t Want To Live On This Planet Anymore, and Goodnews Everyone! The first meme is often used to show disgust with the current state of the world, and the second is used in ironic situations that lead to a great revelation when in reality, it is a sad truth.

Source: Knowyourmeme.com

I expressed my concerns about the recent weather changes by making my own twist of a popular Futurama Meme.

Here is a custom meme I made for this post to express me feelings of climate change in a relatable format. I am quite worried about the world, and irony works well with memes

If you wish to create memes, imgflip.com allows for easy meme generation, go forth let your beautiful mind create relatable content!

--

--