Cancer — First tribute to M.

Milena Carbone
2 min readNov 27, 2019

--

“See” this story on Flickr

I just learned from a distant friend that you are close to death, suffering from breast cancer that the doctors have not managed to cure. When I met you at university, you were as beautiful as an angel, you radiated kindness, generosity and curiosity. You were alive, intelligent and humble, light and deep, happy with your boyfriend you had known from your youth and you had a beautiful baby. I remember you as the fresh and invigorating caress of the wind in the mountains. You stood away from this world; you observed it with cleverness and you loved it. Our world, our Earth.

I don’t know what could have happened, who or what sowed the seed of death that grew in you like a cannibal flower, but I know it’s unfair, outrageous, and it makes me scream with pain, and incomprehension. But what is it worth? I cannot even see you. The doctors and your family do not permit visits. You are alone at the door of death, alone in your bed, alone in your room, alone in the antechamber that leads to God. What a weird Guy, that One. Maybe He wanted you for Himself, maybe He thought that humans did not really deserve you, so takes away your life so young. One does not die at thirty-three, except Christ, but my God, why did you abandon her ?

I am helpless. I would like to ask you to stay. I would like to pray to God to perform a miracle, just for you, your boyfriend, your child, your parents. But you are already far away, your thoughts and your being are entirely turned towards this black door. May you be infinitely happy. May you be. May you receive my pain as a farewell gift.

And you say : “When i am laid in earth, may my wrongs create. No trouble, no trouble in your breast. Remember me, remember me, but ah, forget my fate.”

One does not die at thirty-three, except Christ, but my God, why did you abandon her ?

--

--

Milena Carbone

Second Life fiction, I’m the character of an anonymous writer and photographer in the cloud. I live in the age of those who will be sacrificed.