Why I Hold on to my iPhone SE and Don’t Care About iPhone 11

Sam Fung
4 min readSep 29, 2019

--

Photo by Christian Allard on Unsplash

Early this year I went to a Warriors’ first playoff home game. The arena inside was already packed with people before the game started. Lines were formed at the food and restroom area. While I was waiting for my friend to come out of the restroom, I stood near by the wall, and just like everyone who has a few idle seconds, I pull out my phone and started checking message.

A dude with a beer and garlic fries came up to me and tried to shake my hand. I hesitated because he was eating fries with the same hand just few seconds ago. God damn it. I really didn’t want to shake his greasy hand but I obliged because I didn’t want to be rude and offend him. He wasn’t really drunk but from the way he talked, he definitely had a bit too much to drink. Anyhow, he saw that I was using my phone and said, “that’s a very cool phone you have here, what is it?” I replied, “it’s a iPhone SE.”

He started lauding how small and cool my phone is. He certainly wasn’t young enough to not use an iPhone 5, 5S, or SE before. So I really don’t know if he was sincerely interested in my phone, mocking me, or just bored waiting for his girlfriend to come out the restroom and find someone to talk to to kill a few minutes.

Another time I finished grocery shopping at Andronico’s and paid with Apple Pay on my phone. The cashier was surprised that I was still using an iPhone SE and told me how much he missed a small and light phone. He complained nowadays phones are so bulky and heavy. I couldn’t agree more.

To tell you the truth, I remembered the day after Tim Cook announced the iPhone X, I immediately ordered one online. iPhone X was a huge upgrade from iPhone 5S which I used at the time. I used the iPhone X for a few months and regretted ordering it. I ended up giving it away and upgraded to an iPhone SE instead. I couldn’t have been happier since then.

iPhone SE is so Much Lighter

I challenge you. Go find a iPhone 5S or SE. Pick it up and you would find how light it is and how comfortably it sits on your hand or in your pocket. Every new generation of iPhone has grew heavier. iPhone 11 is even more so because of the bigger battery, I read. I just can’t stand carrying a brick in my pocket anymore nor do I want to carry a purse for the phone.

I Can Still Operate with One Hand

When I see people using the iPhone X with one hand, especially guys, your hand and fingers try to stretch and reach very awkwardly. That doesn’t look cool. Please use both hands. On the other hands, operating an iPhone SE with one hand is comfortably fine.

Great Camera Won’t Make any Difference

The optics in the new iPhone is probably great. Come on. There are 3 camera in a single phone. Next year, I suspect we would have 4 cameras. If you have been doing real photography with an analog or digital camera, you probably have heard that a better camera doesn’t necessarily make you a better photographer. It’s true. Don’t trust and buy in too much to the marketing. I really have no need of a better camera. I mostly use my phone’s camera to take a snapshot of the whiteboard at work or some writing I want to write down.

Face ID Makes Life More Difficult

When I’m at work, I put my phone on the desk most of the time. I realize most if not all other colleagues do the same as well. Remember the phones are so huge that you can’t comfortably leave them in the pocket while sitting? Every time I get a message that I just want to quickly unlock and take a quick glance, or just quickly unlock to get 2 factor authentication code, you just can’t do it with Face ID. I either have to move my body and position my head on top of the phone to unlock or I have to physically pick up the phone, which is heavy, and look at it to unlock. What a drag. Also unlock in the dark at night doesn’t always work for me. Touch ID still has its special place.

Help the Earth

I feel like I’m contributing to the global warming if upgraded my phone every year. My iPhone SE is still functional. Thanks to iOS 13. I use it for text message, calendar, reminder, browser, and occasionally browsing Instagram. So I don’t find the latest and greatest iPhone would improve my life that much.

--

--