My treatment of depression

Kris
4 min readJun 21, 2018

--

One of the things I realized while talking to the doctor this morning was how difficult it has been to know who to see for treatment for depression. For some reason, it never dawned on me to see a “regular” doctor for treatment. My biggest misconception was that family physicians treat ailments like persistent coughs, rashes, pains, and other physical issues. They were never even on my radar for mental health. But depression is a physical, chemical condition that can be treated with medication in conjunction with other treatments just like any other.

As the doctor explained, it’s just like any other issue. For example, they would treat heart conditions up to their level of expertise and then should they need to, they can refer you to a cardiologist. It makes perfect sense now but when I first started looking for treatment, I had no idea who to go to. Do I see a therapist? A psychiatrist? A psychologist? If I had just gone to see a “regular” doctor first, maybe I would have been able to get treatment earlier. But as a reasonably healthy adult, I rarely go to a doctor for check-ups. I may have been once or twice in the last twenty years. I don’t think I’m alone on this.

When I first began to look for help, I booked an appointment with the closest therapist to my place of work so that I wouldn’t have an excuse to cancel. The therapy portion certainly helped in some aspects but I still had the same condition as before where I didn’t feel anything most days, good or bad. I wanted to be able to have the drive to start tasks and to enjoy things again. When I asked my therapist for a treatment program, he didn’t have anything. That was my last visit and I hadn’t tried anything since. I wrote about my signs earlier this year and that was a good start to getting going again. But six months later and I still hadn’t done anything.

That is until I came across this thread from Alex:

It was the little kick I needed. Finally, I saw a possible solution to my issue. I could go to a doctor and ask specifically for the same treatment and then work out a plan with him.

So that’s what I did. Again, I called a clinic closest to my work and set up an appointment. When the registrar said the first opening for new patients was six weeks, I was a little disappointed, but I said that would work. At least I had something on the calendar now and there was progress even if it would be delayed a bit. But then she said there was a cancellation for the next day and I jumped on it.

The visit couldn’t have been better. After a brief talk about my background and filling out a depression questionnaire — one I’ve filled out before at with the therapist — my doctor explained treatment perfectly with the three main components being lifestyle (sleep, eating habits, exercise), therapy, and medication.

For me, I’ve made the lifestyle changes the past couple of years and that has helped tremendously. Therapy was helpful as well but still didn’t fix the underlying issue. When we discussed medication, he explained very thoroughly what medications do what, possible side effects, and why they would prescribe certain ones based on family history (genetics) and every other condition. We decided on one and I will be starting treatment today. And for the first time in a long time, I’m looking forward to starting a task.

I miss feeling joy and I miss feeling sorrow as weird as that may sound. Feeling anything in a lot of cases is better than feeling nothing at all. I’m looking forward to regaining my passion for things that I used to live and die with like family, sports, and everything in between. In short, I’m looking forward to being able to look forward to things again.

My main reason to writing about this initially was to help others recognize the not so subtle signs of depression that they, or others they love, may have. And now I write this in hopes that it will help those affected to set an appointment with their doctor if they haven’t already.

Mental health should be thought of and treated as the physical condition that it is not as some convenient condition concocted by the afflicted. Nor should we be embarrassed to have it. If I had cancer, a broken bone, or some other ailment, I certainly wouldn’t feel embarrassed for having it. If I was going to physical therapy for a knee injury, I wouldn’t be ashamed to tell people I have a doctor appointment with a physical therapist.

I’m not going to volunteer or brag about it so to speak, but seeking treatment for physical ailments is completely acceptable behavior. If you’re sick and otherwise afflicted, you get treatment. So why do we act differently with mental health?

I know how difficult it is to make those steps to getting help, whether it be apathy or embarrassment and I don’t blame you for not doing anything up to this point. I was once there. But you can start today.

--

--