My Soccer Story

Colton Schimke
2 min readApr 7, 2023

--

I’ve been talking about all this soccer but how do you know that this is creditable? How would you know if I know anything about soccer at all? I’m going to tell you how I do. I haven’t been into keeping up with the soccer world because I have been more interested in other sports like basketball or football but I have started to get more into it week by week. I do know one thing though, I love playing the sport.

My soccer career started when I was about 3 years old in the rec leagues but as I got older, I eventually outgrew that when I was better than everyone else on the field and that is when my parents moved me to an actual club at the age of 9. It was a small club called KCSC and it didn’t last very long after I got there but it was a good way to start me out.

After one year of playing for KCSC, all of my coaches that I had there moved to a club called Fusion, so that is where I went. I ended up liking it there and stayed there for a few years. The only thing that I didn’t like was that I was on the second team the whole time I was there and I felt that I was better than that. I felt like that I had proved myself enough to be on the Academy team, the top team. This is when I decided to go elsewhere and join a new club for me.

Picture from kcfusion.com

The club I decided to join was Toca FC. This team gave me a spot on the top team that I felt I deserved and I believe that that is the reason why I am still there. I am in my fifth season currently with Toca and I still love the club. We are currently fighting for a spot in Nationals and that’s the way I like it.

Picture from tocafc.org

You may not trust my opinions on what I have said about soccer because of the lack of how much I am keeping up with it, but there is one thing that I can tell you that is 100% true. I know how the game plays through my life experience of playing the sport and I hope that experience keeps growing so that I can be a truly creditable source.

--

--