Embrace failure as a stepping stone on the path to success

Bethany Scott
4 min readJun 17, 2023

--

Embrace failure as a stepping stone on the path to success

In the dimly lit confines of my cramped college dorm room, surrounded by towering stacks of textbooks and the faint scent of stale coffee, I found myself facing a dilemma that would come to define my journey through higher education: failure. It wasn’t just any failure, but a monumental setback that shook the very foundation of my academic aspirations.

As a wide-eyed freshman, I had entered college with grandiose dreams and lofty ambitions. Armed with an insatiable thirst for knowledge and a burning desire to make my mark on the world, I had set my sights on a seemingly impossible goal: graduating with top honors and securing a coveted spot in the prestigious graduate program of my dreams.

But as the weeks turned into months and the semesters flew by in a blur of lectures and exams, I found myself struggling to keep up with the rigorous demands of college life. The once bright flame of my enthusiasm began to flicker, dimmed by the weight of academic pressure and self-doubt.

It all came to a head during my sophomore year when I received my first major assignment — a research paper that would account for a significant portion of my final grade in a challenging literature course. Armed with determination and a sense of purpose, I poured my heart and soul into the project, spending countless hours in the library poring over dusty tomes and scholarly journals in search of inspiration.

But despite my best efforts, the result was far from satisfactory. When the graded papers were returned, I felt a sinking sensation in the pit of my stomach as I scanned the crimson marks and scathing comments scribbled in the margins. My heart sank as I realized that I had failed — not just failed, but failed miserably.

For a moment, I was overcome by a wave of despair. All of my hopes and dreams seemed to crumble before my eyes, replaced by a sense of hopelessness and defeat. I questioned whether I had what it took to succeed in college and whether I was cut out for the academic rigors that lay ahead.

But amidst the darkness, a glimmer of resilience flickered to life within me. I refused to let failure define me, to dictate the course of my future. Instead, I chose to view it as an opportunity for growth, a chance to learn from my mistakes and emerge stronger on the other side.

With renewed determination, I sought out the guidance of my professor, swallowing my pride and humbly asking for feedback on my paper. To my surprise, she welcomed me with open arms, offering words of encouragement and constructive criticism that would ultimately reshape my approach to academia.

Together, we combed through the paper with a fine-toothed comb, dissecting each paragraph and scrutinizing every argument with a critical eye. With her guidance, I began to see my failures not as insurmountable obstacles, but as valuable learning experiences that would ultimately propel me towards success.

Armed with a newfound sense of purpose, I threw myself into my studies with renewed vigor, tackling each assignment with a sense of determination and resilience that bordered on obsession. I sought out additional resources and study groups, eager to absorb as much knowledge as possible and apply it to my academic pursuits.

Slowly but surely, my efforts began to pay off. With each passing semester, my grades improved, and my confidence soared. I found myself thriving in the classroom, engaging in lively debates and discussions with classmates and professors alike. And when it came time to tackle another research paper, I approached the task with a newfound sense of confidence and purpose.

This time, the results were markedly different. When the graded papers were returned, I held my breath as I scanned the comments and marks. But instead of disappointment, I felt a swell of pride and satisfaction wash over me as I realized that I had not only met but exceeded the expectations set before me.

As I reflect on my journey through college, I am filled with a profound sense of gratitude for the failures that paved the way for my success. They were not roadblocks, but stepping stones on the path to achieving my dreams. And while the road ahead may be fraught with challenges and uncertainties, I am confident that I possess the resilience and determination to overcome whatever obstacles may come my way.

In the end, failure taught me a valuable lesson — that success is not measured by the absence of setbacks, but by the ability to rise above them and emerge stronger on the other side. As I stand on the brink of a new chapter in my life, I do so with a sense of optimism and excitement for the future, knowing that no matter what challenges lie ahead, I am prepared to face them head-on, armed with the lessons learned from failure and the resilience gained from overcoming it.

If you loved this article as much as I loved writing it, then consider following me for more content. And don’t forget to drop a comment below, I’m always looking for new friends!

--

--

Bethany Scott

Writing is a way of life. It allows me to express myself & connect w/others in a way that nothing else can. https://www.amazon.com/dp/B0C382HT4N