Interview with photographer #14: Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells (Singapore, Fine Art&Street photography)

Artem Beliaikin @84lens
5 min readOct 10, 2019

--

Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

Name: Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

Age: 23

Location: Singapore

Style: I’m really into abstract, fine art photography and Urban/street!

Gear: Fujifilm X-T20 & IPhone XS

Experience: I started way back in 2013 so it’s going to be 7 years in a few months!

Social media:

Instagram

Facebook

Pexels

Unsplash

When did you start shooting and how did this love for photography happen? What is your view about photography?

I started shooting in 2013 and I just had this impulse to create and shoot so I tried my luck and it came out pretty good!

Then, I started exploring more and found my true passion! My view on photography is definitely not relying on gear but how you shoot. If you rely on gear, you’re not really shooting but your camera is. If you rely on yourself to shoot, your shots are so much more different and better.

Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

Apart from photography, tell me about your hobbies and interests?

I love reading and crystal healing! I also draw, paint and cook!

Which genre of photography do you like/practice and why?

I’m in Fine Art Photography because it has a very abstract approach to shoots. I used to enjoy commercial photography but I’m more into Fashion and Fine Art Photography now!

Almost 90% of photographers find it hard to earn money out of photography. Any tips that might help photographers to earn money?

Definitely get yourself out there! If you approach photography with a mindset to earn money at first, you’re going to get nowhere. I suggest exploring and doing whatever it takes to get noticed and then earn from there.

What mistakes did you make when you started taking pictures?

I used to edit so much when I first started out because I thought filters is what made photography so good but as I got into it over the years, I realised the more RAW it is, the better because it becomes your signature mark!

Which photo are you currently most proud of? Tell us a story about this photo please.

Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

This photo was taken way back in 2016 but it follows me till today! It helped me get recognition for what I do and I’ve never felt so thankful! It has appeared on some music videos on YouTube and I’ve seen people use it as headers for stories and sometimes as avatars on different websites. It makes me so happy that people can resonate with this as much as I do. Did you know? That this photo was taken as an accidental shot and I wasn’t going to post it but I just tried my luck and then it went viral from there!

What do you do to keep motivated, and not lose your passion for photography?

I try to shoot at least a photo a day or look as things that make me feel Creative!

Why are you giving away your photos on Pexels/Unsplash?

Like I’ve said before, nobody should approach photography with the intent of earning money at the start, you learn as you grow! So I wanted to share my passion with the world by doing so and who knows, I can pick up some tips along the way too!

Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

Light, decisive moment, content, ambiance, a good gear, according to you which is the most essential element in photography?

Light and shadows! You can have all the gear but if you aren’t sure with L&S then it’s trouble! L&S helps you determine how your photo will look like whether amateur or professional.

How fo you promote yourself as photographer?

I usually do It on Instagram and Pexels. I feel so honoured because I stopped for a bit once to give myself a break and Pexels reached out telling me I could contribute with them and thanks to them, i have met the most wonderful Photographers since!

Share your goal in photography?

One word. Teach. I would love to teach others what photography is about and share the passion with like-minded people.

Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

Is there a photo you dream of taking?

I have always wanted to shoot mountains so definitely aiming for that in future.

Do you know where your next mission or project will be?

Right now, I started my own challenge of shoot on impulse because I don’t want to force myself to create for the sake of posting but instead I want to see what I can create on impulse.

Kindly share top five Instagram account everybody should follow?

Sure!

1. Sean Tuck

2. Dako Huang

3. Ben Sasso

4. Duane Michals

5. Bastiaan Woudt

Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

Final words of wisdom you would like to share?

Don’t rely on your gear so much!!! Work with yourself and you’ll love your work so much more and see the difference! Also, shoot what you love and keep doing it! Don’t create for the sake of posting!

Stacey Gabrielle Koenitz Rozells

Original source: https://84LENS.COM

Look inside the inner-world of photographers who went from wishing to having their pics used as stock photos all around the world. Catch the interviews and hear directly from creative people just like you who are pulling back the curtain and letting you peak in.

Made by Photographers, For Photographers.

Follow us in Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/84lens/

--

--

Artem Beliaikin @84lens

📸 Discover a Variety of Stories From Photographers All Over The World and Different Genres! Website: https://84lens.com