Today I learned #5 Let’s start my own website

Jiwon KIM
2 min readJun 10, 2023

--

Finally, I started creating my own website last week! As I was planning before, I’d like to create my own portfolio website :) To make visitors are staying longer on my webpage, I will add a few interaction things on my website.

Here is the list of what I need to think about.

  • Responsive Web
  • Interaction Element
  • UX / UI Design
This is my 1st draft before making a wireframe.
  1. Responsive Web

Responsive is the most important thing these days. Because users can visit the website through laptop, tablet, desktop, or mobile. So we need to consider responsive design to prevent displaying broken websites.

When I discussed this with my instructor, he suggested referring to ‘The Grid System’ (You can click the link and check the information)

  • Interaction Element

I will put interaction things on my website to draw visitors’ interest.

Think about when I visited some websites, I found that I stayed longer and explored them in an interesting way if they have the interaction element. Magnificent and eye-pleasing designs are also good, but I think visitors will want to stay on the website longer if they feel like they’re communicating with the website :)

INTERACTIVE pages references

INTERACTIVE pages references_2

  • UX / UI Design

My website will not only be a portfolio that records the designs I have created, but it will also serve to demonstrate my design skills in itself. Therefore, I will make a website considering the UX/UI design !

--

--