Herbs you can smoke legally!?

The other smokable herbs that aren’t marijuana.

Àsé. Jaharii
5 min readJan 21, 2018

I love herbs. Not only are they affordable and healing but they also work better than any over the counter medicine if taken correctly. (My personal opinion) So while at my local crystal & herbal shop I found a jar of blended herbs called Smoking Blend.

The herbalist stated that: these herbs heal lungs, prevent colds and coughs, and even make people want to stop smoking cigarettes.

Sounded like a win-win to me, so I had to try it.

Now… I am not a doctor, a herbalist, or anything special like that. If you are truly curious about these herbs then check in with your doctor and all that important stuff. Especially if you are pregnant! Please don’t smoke ANYTHING if you are pregnant without consulting a doctor or at the least doing extensive research.

The Blend

This blend contained Mullein If, Marshmallow If, Skullcap, Uva Ursi, Damiana, and Lobelia.

Below I will link articles, pictures and a quick summary of each herb.

Mullein

This herb can be ingested, applied topically or smoked. Various treatments are treated by Mullein including asthma, coughs, influenza, burns, and even the herpes virus. There are actually way more ailments mullein cures. Definitely check out the articles below:

Marshmallow Root

This actually treats coughs and colds. According to a Dr. Axe post it “decreases irritation of the throat reduce swelling in the lymph nodes, speed up healing time and reduce aggravating dry coughing”.

Skullcap

American skullcap and chinese skullcap supposedly treat different things. I decided to summarize what the Native Americans used the herb for. Supposedly the “Iroquois used it to keep the throat clear and healthy and it was used to induce visions as a ceremonial plant.” I didn’t see any visions while smoking this blend but maybe smoking just skullcap is a whole other experience…

Learn more about skullcap curing bronchitis, hepatitis, and diarrhea below:

I just thought this was an interesting facebook post. Especially for those of us who would like to bring more magickal aspects to our herbs.

Uva Ursi

No idea why the blend includes an herb that cures a urinary tract infection but the fact that uva ursi also treats headaches, backaches, rheumatism and arthiritis is definitley a huge plus. BE CAREFUL with this herb. It should only be used for a short period of time. Supposedly the side effects of overdosing on Uva Ursi is vomiting and nausea.

Damiana

Damiana not only lowers your stress levels but also heightens your sex drive. This aphrodisiac is also ant-bacterial and an anti-depressant.

Lobelia

This herb may actually be effective in treating drug addictions! The article below compared lobelia to nicotine. However, lobelia has the opposite side effects of nicotine. It brings down blood pressure, your heart rate, relaxes muscles, and dilates blood vessels. Perhaps this was the herb that the herbalist was suggesting stops addiction to cigarettes? Check out the information below to gain your own perspective:

Check out my Smokable Herbs Pinterest board to see all of this information in one place:

https://pin.it/hmbx256ounevri

My Personal Experience

The blend doesn’t taste well and it won’t give an “illusory experience”. After smoking it a couple of times I found that my lungs felt more 'open’.

Some people have told me that this blend helps them smoke marijuana. They usually cough or get a dry throat but the blend smoothes out the inhaling process.

Personally I feel like for serious smokers it may be best to use this blend before or after a regular session. Overall, experimentation is key to understanding what works best for you.

Keep in mind that this blend does not smell well together. Just like marijuana it can give off a loud odor.

Finally, I found this blend to be very inexpensive. I think I paid around $2 for half an ounce. It’s so fluffy that it filled half of a plastic ziplock sandwich bag. Of course I already tried a bunch it’s not as full as it once was.

I am not aware of the measurements of each herb in the actual blend. This is fine to me because I rather keep buying this from the store. It would probably cost more money & time for me to figure out the blend on my own. Perhaps when I have more time i’ll experiment with that.

If I ever have some type of respiratory sickness I’ll try the herbs and write another article on how and if the blend actually helped cure or heal the ailment.

Thing is… with all these herbs I’ve been taken daily I hardly ever ever get sick.

If you have a story on what any of these herbs may or may not have done for you let me know in the comments below.

✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨

--

--

Àsé. Jaharii

My journey exploring the life force. Entries on what I learn, experience, & question. Paradigms & realms. ✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨✨