Being A Global Citizen

A Million Voices
5 min readSep 7, 2022

--

What makes someone a global citizen?

Personally, I think every single one of us is a global citizen, but some of us have forgotten this beautiful truth.

“Where are you from?” This has always been the hardest question for me to answer. People wonder about my accent, my appearance, and my demeanour. I guess I’m a blend of many cultures and countries, so limiting myself to a single country or culture does not do justice to who I am.

I am a global citizen.

I have learned something new from each and every place I’ve visited over the last few years, let me take you on a journey of what I’ve discovered.

Adventure is worthwhile!

The opportunity to get out and explore the vast expanse of this beautiful Earth is magical. It’s something that is extremely hard to put into words. The transformative power of travel reaches far beyond a beautiful Instagram photo.

But travelling can also be quite stressful. I’ve gotten better at it the more I do it, as with all things in life, but there are always unexpected hiccups and changes of plans along the way. In the end, though, I’ve found that all of these things that don’t necessarily go according to plan make my adventures even better, more exciting, and ultimately more meaningful. Every time I reflect back on a travel experience I’ve had, I realise something new that I learned and usually wish that I had taken the time and the effort to be more in the moment when it was happening.

I’m still very much working on being a more mindful traveller.

So, here is what I have learned so far:

Don’t rush

Don’t try to fit too many things into your itinerary and make sure you give yourself some free time. If you are having to rush around all the time, all you’re going to do is stress yourself out by constantly thinking about the next thing you need to do or how to get to the next place you need to be. This is probably one of the biggest lessons I’ve learned since starting my Silk Road Expedition this year.

Give yourself some room to breathe and fully experience each moment without jumping ahead to the next. When I continue my journey next year it will be done much slower, and hopefully, I won't need five shots of espresso to make it through the afternoon.

Be flexible

This one involves letting go of a little control, not always an easy task for a Virgo, we live to organise and control. So if you’re one of those people who likes to have a plan, make sure you pencil in some free time. Give yourself some time to be spontaneous and take yourself to a peaceful place where you can relax.

Don’t avoid the mundane things

Get out of the tourist areas and try as much of the real local stuff as you can. The whole point of travelling is to get out of your comfort zone and learn something new. Take part in a cultural event, try the local speciality (unless you have a weak stomach like mine, in which case please stay clear of some local specialities) and throw all your preconceived notions to the wind.

Make sure to get a feel for the local culture and how the people actually live. You’ll be shocked at both the similarities and the differences between your own hometown or culture, and these little things are the ones that you’ll remember the most.

Pack light

This one is pretty obvious, but my previous travel companion Tako would tell you a few stories on how we struggled with our luggage (well, mainly mine, we even named it the body bag) on public transport while the locals stared at us trying to guess who we murdered and stored inside the bag. So trust me, heavy bags will just weigh you down. Leave anything unnecessary at home and make sure you leave some extra room in there for any souvenirs you might want to bring home!

Solo travelling is life-changing

There’s just something amazing about having time alone to really get to know who you are.

I never could’ve imagined that I could travel halfway across the world by myself. But if I had listened to that little voice in my head that told me that I couldn’t do it, then I never would’ve gained the confidence and skills that solo travelling has given me. I never would’ve realised that I am capable of a lot more than I could’ve imagined.

Live your best life

If you let fear control your life, you will be missing out on living your best life, so go out there, feel that fear and do it anyway!

We all have a story to tell

Talk to the locals. Listen to their stories. Learn from their life lessons.

And when you get back home? Share your travel stories. You never know who you could inspire.

Kindness speaks the same language

I have met some of the kindest people on my travels. On many occasions, I have been approached by strangers who had gone out of their way to give me advice and assistance, so that I could truly experience and enjoy their country. And most of the time, I didn’t even ask for help.

Having lived in London for way too many years, I am used to people being too busy rushing to work or home to stop and help someone out. So, these little acts of kindness that I experienced on my travels really touched me.

Kindness literally costs nothing. So, sprinkle that shit like confetti!

Be open to new experiences

“If you reject the food, ignore the customs, fear the religion and avoid the people, you might better stay at home.” James A Michener

You can achieve the impossible

We are capable of achieving the impossible.

So, I really hope this inspires you to go out and achieve your own “impossible” goals!

xxx

--

--