I was bullied, now I break world records!

A Million Voices
3 min readSep 26, 2022

--

Meet Rumeysa, a 25 years old 5x Guinness World Record Holder from Turkey.

“My name is Rumeysa Gelgi, but I’m best known for being the Tallest Woman in the World.

I received the “tallest living woman” title thanks to my over 7ft height! My height is caused by a very rare overgrowth syndrome called Weaver Syndrome. Having a tall stature is not the only effect of Weaver Syndrome, it also brings some severe physical issues such as scoliosis (spinal curvature), lack of muscles, balance problems, etc. That’s why I’m mostly using a wheelchair for long distances, for short distances I can use my walker.

I didn’t have an easy life. I have never attended school in person but was homeschooled instead because of my physical disability. I had to go through many surgical procedures which were hard, but the toughest and most hurtful were all the encounters with bullying when I was younger.

I hope you never had to go through that. I feel bullying is not talked about enough, even though it leaves you with invisible scars that you carry for life.

I know what I have told so far sounds really negative. However, living with Weaver Syndrome and going through intense challenges inspired me to advocate for and encourage others with similar conditions.

In 2014, I applied to Guinness World Records for my first ever record title, the “tallest living female teenager”. I was hoping to turn what looks negative from the outside into something that is more positive, I wanted people to understand and see me for who I’m. After that, I received 4 more Guinness World Records titles all thanks to these extraordinary physical differences I have. I believe that I really proved that one can turn something that looks negative into a positive thing.

My parents taught me a very valuable perspective when I was younger, they told me that I don’t have an illness but a syndrome which are like the characteristics of a person, so I don’t have anything that needs to be healed. This is just how I was born and how I am. Thanks to this approach, I never defined myself as a sick person or felt miserable. It also helped me to deal with all the painful words I received from bullies. Their words upset me a lot in the beginning, but over time I realised that this is not about me but them.

Since I received my first ever Guinness World Records title, I’m using my voice to raise awareness for scoliosis, Weaver Syndrome and similar conditions. I took part in many global advocacy campaings which I’m so proud of. Especially because I work in a totally different industry, Tech and Software! I’m actually a qualified Web Developer and I just moved to the USA to further my career so I can build an independent life for myself.

If you would like to know more about me and be a part of my continuous journey, please feel free to follow and message me on Instagram @rumeysagelgi.

Thank you for reading my story!”

If our stories inspire you and you share our passion for creating a kinder and more compassionate world 🌎

Please consider becoming a Patron.

If we reach our £3000 Goal I will donate 50% to a wonderful charity called Papyrus who focus on prevention of Young Suicide

Much Love,

Stephanie Johnstone

xxx

https://www.patreon.com/amillionvoices

--

--