poetry on medium

The Pursuit of Knowledge

Ozzy and Ozy

A. Gee
Jul 28, 2024

--

a comic book style drawing of a student studying something about ancient Egypt
image from author’s prompt to Midjourney

Ah, Ozymandias, in college,
I think it was in English class,
still in pursuit of carnal knowledge,
struck up a convo with a lass.

I wasn’t sure about my chances;
my weak attempts, hardly advances,
did not at first amount to much.
But lyrics, rock, she liked as such.

I first impressed her with Tom Sawyer,
Rush, gilded cage, a Shakespeare riff,
and my performance, a bit stiff,
at least did not seem to annoy her,
and though I laid it on too thick,
Ozy and Ozzy did the trick.

image generated by author’s prompt to Midjourney

--

--

A. Gee

A. Gee has been playing with words since he was little, and has finally been talked into sharing.