My First Time Editing In Wikipedia, and I liked It.

A1
4 min readApr 19, 2024

I’ve not edited on Wikipedia before, nor was I planning to, but it came up in one of my classes as an assignment. Here’s how it went.

I started the assignment this past Monday. First on the list was to find an article about something non-controversial that I am interested in or knowledgeable about, and that which I could add accurately cited information from a credible source.

This was the hard part, and I knew it would be, so I got started immediately. There are millions of Wikipedia articles. How could I find one article that I can add some bit of cited information?

This led me to asking more questions, “Where should I get my information? What kind of information do I have in my possession?” I turned to my bookshelf and scanned.

I settled on The Birds of America, a book of illustrations by John James Audubon. Underneath the illustrations was information about each bird. I thought, “How convenient. I have everything I need right here.”

Photo by Aura Faison of the inside pages of the book The Birds of America by John James Audubon

I then cracked open the book, and typed into Wikipedia the first bird that I didn’t recognize. I quickly found out that information on birds in Wikipedia is pretty robust. Not only was every single article I looked up overloaded with information, but it looked as if my book-originally published in 1937-had outdated information.

I rerouted. I opened Wikipedia and tried finding an article in the Task Center, clicked the random article link several times (located underneath Wikipedia’s main menu), and then went to the Wikipedia:Stub page.

Stubs were endless, and I was totally overwhelmed. I had to take a break.

I thought back to a video that the professor supplied as “learning materials” earlier in the course. Molly White’s Become a Wikipedian in 30 minutes was a big help to me throughout this whole process, but was also key to how I found the information that was ultimately used in editing my first article.

Molly White’s video, Become a Wikipedian in 30 minutes from YouTube

In the video, Molly uses a book she got from the library about garden insects. She opened the book, and landed on an insect that had information she was able to apply to its Wikipedia page.

I headed for the local library. There is one not far from my home. I talked to a librarian who pointed out the nonfiction sections to me. I searched for about thirty minutes before landing on two books; one about bats (mammals), and one about mushrooms.

Fortunately, my library card was still up to date. I went home and did what Molly did. I opened the book, chose a random bat, found its article in Wikipedia, and it just so happened to be in need of information that I was able to supply.

Screenshot from Wikipedia article found here

It worked!

Next, I wrote on the Talk page of the article what I proposed to do.

Screenshot of Wikipedia Talk page found here

I did not get any responses to my comment. In the screenshot below, you can see the date I posted my comment 15 April 2024, and in the bottom right-hand corner of the screenshot there is the date on my computer that reads 4/18/2024.

Screen shot of Wikipedia Talk page and the task bar of my laptop

This is to let my teacher know there has been no response during the few days the comment has been posted.

I then went ahead and made the changes, added citation, and published the changes to the article.

Screenshot of Wikipedia article found here

I’ve enjoyed the experience. Now, not only am I an official Wikipedia editor, but I already know what my favorite editing jobs are: adding information with citation, and basic spelling and grammar errors.

I have set my suggested edits to my favorite topics; biology, earth and environment. I have already received suggestions that I think are very interesting. I’ve wanted to be more engaged with these topics for a long time, and I think this is the perfect opportunity to do just that.

Screenshot of my Wikipedia homepage

After this project, the level of trust I give to Wikipedia is about the same as before, but my perspective has changed. I now see Wikipedia as much more fun and interactive, much more flexible. I don’t see the article’s information being as permanent as I used to.

I’ve known it’s possible for anyone to change information on a Wikipedia page by adding to it for a long time, but doing it myself brought that possibility to life.

And I want to keep going.

Dan Gillmor, looks like you’ve created another Wikipedia editor for life!

--

--