Mickey Singer is My Guru

A Ben Amin
2 min readApr 26, 2024

--

I sound just like David Gerken

I read Mickey Singer’s book, the Untethered Soul, several years ago.

Actually, what I should say is that I thought I read the Untethered Soul.

In the last two years, I’ve moved cross-country twice, got rid of most of my possessions and have been living in general transition and upheaval. Still, somehow, the Untethered Soul is one of a handful of books that I’ve been traipsing up and down the East Coast with.

A few weeks back, I began listening to some of Mickey Singer’s teachings on Youtube, and my life has not been the same since. I’ll get into that later.

So naturally, after listening to his dharma talks, I figured I would pick up his book again. It’s been a faithful, but unread traveling companion.

As I began to read it, I kept waiting for the part where he tells his unbelievable story of surrender, starting as a young man in his twenties, and all throughout his life. I slowly realized that that story would not be told, because I was reading the wrong book.

It’s a bit comical, but I’m still having a hard time with this! I could have sworn I read the Untethered Soul! I have recommended it to others, and gave my copy to my neighbor (He gave it back to me and I’m glad that he did). Even my eldest child knows that Michael Singer wrote the Untethered Soul, due to hearing me talk about it.

So clearly, the book I read was the Surrender Experiment, because nothing in the Untethered Soul is even vaguely familiar, and that is exactly why it’s so life-changing.

Truly, this book mixup is beyond a mystery….it’s mystical…because it feels like this book has shown up in my life exactly when I need it. The teachings resonate deep down, but yet they are new and satisfying, like fresh water from a mountain spring.

In all of Mickey’s teachings, he admonishes the reader/listener to devote one’s life to this surrender, to the act of letting go and allowing emotions to have their space.

Say less, Mickey. I can already feel the blockages rearranging within. I can sense that my life energy has a bit more room within myself to play.

This is my work. For the rest of my life. And Mickey is my guru.

--

--