Conservatory of Flowers beds growing edible plants

A Day Made Better
3 min readSep 24, 2014

--

The Conservatory of Flowers in Golden Gate Park is probably one of my top 3 favorite places in all of San Francisco. Located at the eastern edge of the park, The Conservatory of Flowers is a greenhouse and botanical garden that houses a collection of rare and exotic plants. More importantly, outside of the greenhouse is a huge lawn with at least 15 flower beds and grassy hills for locals and tourists to lounge on. The flowers are rotated seasonally and the beds are always incredibly well maintained and very impressive.

Beds are currently empty at the end of September to make room for the next cycle of flowers

This week, as I was walking through the park, I had to do a double take. I have always dreamed that these beds would someday grow vegetables and I noticed two giant beds of a leafy green resmebling kale growing outside the Conservatory. I had to get closer because I thought I was hallucinating. But I was right! There is actually food growing where there are usually flowers. I was so excited that I spent the rest of my walk with a huge smile on my face.

I am trying to get in contact with SF rec and park about what the plan is with the rest of the beds. Are all the beds going to be growing different vegetables this fall? Is this the first time anything other than flowers is growing in these beds? Where will all these veggies end up? When I get the answers I will be happy to share the news….

--

--

A Day Made Better

On food, cooking, gardening, travel, photography and everything else that makes me smile -Claire Boone