I Woke from a Dream…

Brian W. Sykes
5 min readMay 9, 2024

Written down Oct 27, 2020 immediately after I awoke

Be forewarned… this is NOT my usual posting. While it does make use of AI to illustrate the story shared, the contents were a dream that I documented upon waking — several years ago.

I just woke from a dream. In the dream, I was on a trip back from the beach with my wife and our youngest 3 kids. We had stopped in a little, nondescript town full of old run-down factory buildings. Some were half-converted to little shops selling knick-knacks on a community level. T-shirts of the local high school and random nonsense that felt more like inside jokes than TikTok memes. One newer-than-the-rest Convenient store had a steady flow of traffic selling gas, soft drinks and snacks for travelers and the local service economy employees. The once brand name store was littered with odd, hand written signs misspelled proclaiming an odd assortment of “bol’d p-nuts”, “fried chik-n”, “Lotrey Tikets.”

There were a couple of practically-sized, vintage-named grocery stores you thought no longer existed. Parking lots were mostly empty, but the few cars were oversized vintage models so rusted, dented, torn up that the appeal was long since lost as a vehicle of…

--

--

Brian W. Sykes

A.I. Catalyst | Generative AI Educator for Creative Professionals via the-ai-lab.com | LinkedIn Top 100 AI Artists | Keynote Speaker