Monterrey is the capital of Nuevo Leon, one state located in northeastern Mexico. Founded in 1596 by Diego higher MONTE, the city lacked significance for most of the colony and not until the late nineteenth century when companies that eventually will become the industrial capital of the country were developed. The city of Monterrey has currently with 1,139,417 inhabitants according to the National Institute of Statistics, Geography and Informatics (INEGI). However, the Metropolitan Monterreyrebasa 3.8 million, which are distributed in an area of ​​580.5 square kilometers, making it the second largest metropolitan area in Mexico and the third in population after Mexico City and Guadalajara.
It is known as the “City of the Mountains” by the characteristics formations have in and around the city such as El Cerro de la Silla, El Cerro de las Mitras, The Sierra Madre (where is the famous area known as Chipinque), El Cerro del Topo for many years, famed for its springs of water termales- among the highlights.