Fleetwood Mac — Tango in the Night

A Record Almost Everyday
2 min readMay 24, 2023

--

Warner Bros. Records — 9 25471–1 & 1–25471 (1987)

This one is currently a tragedy. My favorite Fleetwood Mac album, I bought it earlier this year and opened it for this review and the vinyl skips and is warped.

Tango in the Night was recorded over two years in Los Angeles from 1985 to ’87. After their tour for their 1982 album Mirage ended, the band parted ways for a few years to pursue solo projects. Buckingham began to write for the follow up to his solo album Go Insane, this production would become Tango in the Night. The band was, as always, in dire straits. Nicks was drinking during recording sessions and more focused on her solo career. Buckingham was frustrated about being in the band still. This all came to a head as the band began to plan for their accompanying tour for the album, and Buckingham announced his departure. The album released to strong reviews and sales. The album produced four international singles with “Big Love” peaking highest at no. 9.

Man, this bums me out. I had been searching for this vinyl for years… I guess the search continues. From what I could hear of the album, the beginning is front loaded with bops. “Big Love,” “Seven Wonders,” “Everywhere” and more all grace Side A. The only song not of the same caliber is McVie’s “Mystified,” but even that is still a good song. Side B roars open with “Little Lies” a synth forward McVie powerhouse. She again kills it on “Isn’t It Midnight” a song which blends ’80s rock and pop to great effect. “When I See You Again” is the only bad track on the album, and Nicks is to blame. A cringe inducing ballad sang with ennui, big skip. “You, and I, Pt. II” closes the album with upbeat and driving pomp.

Must Listen To: Tango in the Night

There is a striking poetry and raw energy about this song. This is one which stood out to me among the sea of hits this album contains.

P.S. While writing this, I found another copy in good condition on Discogs and purchased it!

Discogs

--

--

A Record Almost Everyday

Listening to one of my LP's in alphabetical order (almost) everyday in 2023 until I finish