A. S. McHugh
Jul 14, 2023

--

I do this. Sometimes I don't even realize when I do this. I avoid referencing "my husband", and it most often happens when dealing with contractors, like a plumber or other service rep. I too pass. But then there have been times when I didn't avoid saying that the guy who just joined us is "my husband" and in some of those times the temperature in the room changed, and on a few occasions we then got ghosted or received a ridiculous quote, because they don't want do the work. In one instance someone arrived to give us a quote, and when my husband was introduced and we began talking through the job, they suddenly didn't do this kind of work. "Sorry for the confusion."

It's not shame - it's preservation and peace. More often than not, I try to take the risk.

--

--

A. S. McHugh

Writer, actor, creator. Human being. A bit of an outsider, like some albino squirrel often watching life from the branches, and documenting what he sees.