Miralem Pjanic: This is the story of my life

By Miralem Pjanic

AS Roma
3 min readJun 7, 2016

My name is Miralem Pjanic and I was born in Tuzla, Bosnia on 2 April, 1990.

When I was two years old, the war broke out and we all had to leave home.

We moved to Luxembourg, where I started my new life. My dad was a footballer but he had to work in a factory.

It was my dad who got me into football. One day he surprised me playing in the garage. He thought I was a thief. I always played football when I was a kid.

A ball was always in my arms or at my feet and I was always out with my friends. School was always important and I studied a lot as a kid. Just think, I speak six languages now.

When I was six I joined FC Schifflange 95, a first division team in Luxembourg. They knew I had talent but I knew only hard work gets you anywhere and I went away from my family at 13 for the first time.

I went to play for FC Metz in France. Metz had many champions so I trained hard to be like them. In August, I made my debut against PSG and then I scored my first goal in December. What a great emotion that was.

In 2008, I moved to Lyon, one of France’s top clubs. I had some very strong team mates and I proved to be at their level. I began training very hard and always respecting my coach’s advice.

I trained for hours each day and took many free-kicks. I still like doing that and I often score from them too.

While I was at Lyon, I took a very important decision for myself. Although I had grown up in France, I decided to play for Bosnia and in 2014 we made history — we qualified for Brazil 2014. What an incredible emotion to play in the World Cup.

It’s been almost 5 years now that I have lived in and played for Roma. It’s a beautiful city which I’ve learned to love.

I try and work hard every day to earn my family and the fans’ respect. When I arrived at Roma, someone defined me as Giotto, ‘The Painter’, but the nickname I prefer is the one I got from Captain Francesco Totti, ‘The Little Prince’.

If you enjoyed reading this, please click the below. This will help to share the story with others. Click here to visit the official AS Roma website.

--

--