3 Fast and Efficient Ways to Overcome Writing Funk During Times of Emotional Crisis

Alessandro Tinchini
4 min readMay 24, 2020

And to keep on writing even if you feel sick about it.

Photo credit: Me on my favorite quarantine shelter, the rooftop.

For some writers, quarantine has been a chance to refresh creativity. For others, the isolation that it generated had the opposite effect. And their writing got stuck. If you, like me, fall in the second category, chances are you’re still struggling to get your juices flowing. In order to do so, you have to rely on specific strategies to face emotional crisis and creative stagnation.

The origin of stagnation

How it started

When lockdown began, I lost my job. I am a full-time waiter in a coffeehouse, and those places, along with restaurants, were the first to shut down. In the early days of quarantine I could cope with isolation, because I was confident that I would go back to work soon, so writing was doing fine. Also, I felt positive about taking advantage of the free time I had.

But then I saw that implications were different in my country. I live in Italy, which by then was the second most Covid-struck country in the world. And if it wasn’t enough, I live in the second most Covid-affected region, which is Marche, on the eastern coast. The overall situation took a dark turn, as quarantine started to generate inside of me a…

--

--