co-creators: IRENE MELERO

AWAYTOMARS
3 min readOct 16, 2016

--

Irene Melero is from Spain and studies fashion design in Alicante.

Irene loves to draw and create since she was a child. She is a person who has fun all the time with anything. Irene loves sports and interesting conversations.

Fashion is her life, she likes to be informed of trends and the latest on the catwalk.

Irene likes different things and has an atypical taste. Irene believes that in fashion everything is possible.

Irene enjoys fashion. Each design by her tells a story with feelings. Irene thinks that each design has to have something special to reach the public. The inspiration for her designs are based on the future, on moving lines and dynamic colours.

What is your current role? If you are not a designer, how do you fit designing on your daily life? How often do you design? I am currently studying fashion design, so if I consider myself a designer. I design every day if it is possible, it is a passion.

What inspires you to create? Creating for me is a way of life, by creating you can express yourself the way you want. I have always liked to be free and be able to show my feelings.

How would you describe your style of design? What do you think your design brings of new/original to the world? I’d define my style as something minimalistic with bold colours and very dynamic lines. I love the movement and especially the simplicity of the design. My design is a fresh air to the world, with that movement and that joy in the colours.

Have you ever worked on a collaborative project before? Do you think collaborative design can be the future for fashion? I had never worked on a collaborative project and I am very glad my first time is with you. And yes, this is an opportunity that helps a lot young designers like me to make themselves known and to be able to access this industry.

Who is your favourite designer or brand? Can you afford to purchase items from them? If not, where do you alternatively buy your clothes from? This is a very difficult question... Since there are many designers and brands that I love. I love Miguel Becer of ManéMané, a Spanish brand. Although Agatha Ruiz de la Prada and Davidelfin are designers that I admire. I bought something from them, for example I have two bags of Agatha Ruiz de la Prada

If you could be involved on the design of a piece of clothing or a collection from the past, what would it be? It would certainly be in the collection of Yves Saint Laurent which was inspired by the artist Mondrian. This collection has me crazy.

What music are you listening to now? Let’s go — Ramones

Please share with us an artist or a piece of art that inspires you. Why does it inspire you? Dali is one of my favorite artists. His work has always inspired me. His paintings are pure fantasy and reality at the same time.

If you were given a choice of having one colour that you would have to only use it for the rest of your life, what colour would it be? Why? Black. Black is elegant. Black is a pure color which is impossible to get tired of. Black never fails.

Please share a film you could watch over and over again. One of my favorite movies: Breakfast at Tiffany’s.

NEXT: discover the concept behind Irene’s co-creation in AWAYTOMARS’ #512 collection.

PRE-ORDER THEM NOW! GREENLIS

--

--

AWAYTOMARS

Co-creation, crowd-funding and revenue-sharing applied to fashion. NEW PAGE: https://medium.com/awaytomars-journal