What does ‘Peace’ mean to you?

The Peace Crane Project
4 min readSep 24, 2017

--

Students all around the world answer this as part of the Peace Crane Project ❤

“I love the peace” crane from a student in Siem Reap, Cambodia

One of the things I love about the Peace Crane Project is not only the fact that students around the world get to share their message of peace with one another through our global peace crane exchange, but also the fact that when I go in to classrooms, I get to learn too.

It is critical that in this role, as someone actively trying to educate youth and engage people in promoting peace in order to better this crazy world, that I understand what the youth of today think about peace. I want to know whether they think it matters to them, who they think it effects, is it relevant and/or important? I want to learn from them, and I want them to know how valuable their contributions to the world are.

So, each time I go in to classrooms, I take time at the beginning (length of this depends on how long the class is :) ) to ask the students: What does peace mean to you?

This is done in a brainstorming style session, then the kids can reflect on this when they write their messages of peace on the origami ❤

Here are their answers:

New Jersey, USA

Grade 7 participant answers in New Jersey, USA
Grade 5 participant answers in New Jersey, USA
Grade 10 participant answers in New Jersey, USA

Philadelphia, USA

Grade 1 participants ❤
Grade 3 participants
Grade 3 participants

Siem Reap, Cambodia

Sorry for the blurry resolution — I wrote in really light pen so had to edit the pic so you can see the writing!

And photos from our amazing volunteer in Lahore, Pakistan

Do you love it?

I DO! Every time I do this, I have never failed to feel inspired and grateful that the youth of today are switched on and care about peace.

The thing we don’t get taught at school: Peace is integral to everything that we do.

Your positive self-talk, taking care of your body, personal health and wellbeing: Peace

How you interact with your family, how you resolve conflict in the home, how much you share with your siblings, how you treat your grandma: Peace

Letting people in front of you in peak hour, helping someone in the grocery store, treating strangers with kindness: Peace

How country leaders manage human movement, make decisions on arms deals that effect new and long-standing wars, treat their citizens: Peace

It is not some airy-fairy, hippy, unattainable ideal — it’s a measurable and realistic reality that is actually better for the economy.

So this is what I try to encourage conversation around for all the students I work with. They are receptive, engaged and care about what you are talking about if you can connect with them in the right way.

Peace is something that matters to and effects all of us, and I’m so grateful to be learning from so many young leaders who have great ideas already about what Peace is.

We are still getting more schools sign up every day, and would love everyone to be involved. Want to know more? Visit our website for more, and you can sign up today at www.peacecraneproject.org/sign-up

In Peace,

Sarah
Director, Armed with the Arts Inc ❤

“Give me the right to express ideas if you want to give me peace”. Powerful peace message from participant in Cambodia.

--

--

The Peace Crane Project

We are the world’s largest international children’s peace project ❤ 3 yrs, 2.5 million kids. Join us today.