How did I study Data Science alongside my engineering degree?

Aaryan Ahuja
6 min readJun 30, 2024
My brother took my (cinematic) photo last summer.

This article has my journey of learning Data Science. Hope you will not feel bored :)

I studied Mechanical Engineering from Indian Institute of Technology, Delhi (2020–2024). You might know that mechanical engineering, at least at undergraduate level, does not involve coding stuff. But in the first year of college, we are taught introductory courses from different departments including Intro to Computer Science (COL100). I learnt a bit of concepts and coding in COL100. That semester got over and I didn’t think about COL100 again.

Semester 3 went by and now I wanted to do something with a code. And that is where my learning journey began.

Winter break, December 2021

We were the covid batch (2020 entry) and had missed some labs in online sems. We were called on campus to do those labs in person. It was a lot of free time to be honest. A couple of my friends from my hostel started studying the basics of Machine Learning. Both of them took Andrew Ng’s famous ML course.

I didn’t want to do assignments and hence just watched the same lectures from Youtube (they were available that time). I made some notes and understood a bit. I also learnt more of Python watching channels like:

--

--

Aaryan Ahuja

Data Scientist @ Zomato | IIT Delhi'24 Graduate. I talk about AI, Data Science and daily life. I post regularly on LinkedIn: linkedin.com/in/aaryan-ahuja/