A book and a bake
2 min readOct 28, 2018

The Book Thief 📖: Markus Zusak

The book thief is an amazing story about a young girl named Liesel and her life. The story takes place in Germany during the holocaust. In the story Liesel witnesses her brother dying and it was very traumatic for her. After he passes she must go live with the Hubermanns, a very nice but strict family. Liesel really enjoys her new family and especially likes Hanns Hubermann the father. Hanns and Liesel do lots of fun things together like he teaches her to read, they roll cigarettes and they read stories late into the night. Liesel begins to make lovely friends like Rudy. Rudy is a young boy who fancies Liesel and they become the best of friends. Throughout the story Liesel is beginning to read and loves it. The Germans really enjoyed burning books and Liesel likes reading them, so whenever there was a book burning she would sneak and steal books to read. Eventually the Hubermanns decide to take in a Jewish refugee. Living life with the most caution and concern Liesel reads, steals, and discovers herself throughout the story.

For my bake I made a Dutch Baby pancake which is a popular dessert in Germany and the Netherlands and since the story took place in Germany I thought it was fitting!

A book and a bake

Hi my name is Jessa. I am an amateur baker and I love to read. I will be reading books and then making a dessert that connects to the story. I hope you love it!