Choosing Resilience: My Ongoing Journey with the F2–7 Visa in South Korea

Ace Tully
2 min readJan 26, 2024

--

Introduction:

Running through Bhutan’s mountains, I found moments of pure presence, breathing in the fresh air and engaging in both light and profound conversations with fellow runners and locals. This 200km journey was not just a physical test, but a mental one, echoing my experiences with 10-day vipassana retreats. These moments of reflection led me back to South Korea, reaffirming my commitment to the path I’ve chosen.

Background:

My adventure began in December 2015 when I moved to South Korea on an E-2 visa, initially unaware of the F2–7. Discovering it in 2019, I dove into learning Korean, but COVID-19 shifted my focus to a master’s program. Despite challenges, including navigating the complexities of visa points systems, I’ve persevered.

The Decision to Stay:

In Bhutan’s serene landscapes, I decided to continue my South Korean journey. Starting anew in Seoul wasn’t easy, but thanks to a network of friends, basketball teams, and various platforms like Facebook groups and Soomgo, I established myself. Last year, I achieved my visa goals and now await the final financial tally from my accountant.

Looking Ahead to 2024:

This year, I plan to share my journey with the F2–7 visa, balancing time-for-money work with business ventures. You can expect insights on navigating immigration, networking, and teaching business English. For those interested in the F2–7 visa, I’ll provide monthly updates on my Medium blog and detailed financial figures on my Substack.

--

--