The Main Problem With Learning Coding Online

Adam
5 min readApr 10, 2023
Photo by Flipsnack on Unsplash

I have been learning online since 2012. That was when my first attempt at learning how to code. I was very young and didn’t have internet at home; I downloaded Youtube videos using internet cafes and brought them home on a USB flash drive to learn from them. Then fast forward to 2014, I took a high school course on social development online from Rwaq, then in 2017, I learned HTML & CSS with FreeCodeCamp (I had internet at home at that point), then in 2018, I tried learning Swift with HackinWithSwift, then in 2021 through Youtube, in 2023 with BCSwift which I have written about my first two weeks experience learning from John Gallaugher, which TD: LR been impressive in terms of content.

Photo by Nubelson Fernandes on Unsplash

Every time I learn online, there is always one aspect of frustration that I can not shake off, and as I said in my most recent blog, the reason I went with BCSwift is that I thought this frustration would not be an issue since the lessons are based on an in-person college class. So I said it would be different. My experience usually looks like this: I’m happy and excited to start learning, then with some googling, I can get by with first challenges, and then I begin facing more challenging and tougher roadblocks, things…

--

--