The Power of Momentum

Another half-baked theory on life

Adam Lacombe
2 min readAug 25, 2017

An object at rest stays at rest and an object in motion stays in motion…

— Some Guy

For a long time I’ve measured my career progression against a scale of momentum. Like most, it started out slowly, and accelerated as I learned the lay of the land.

This acceleration gave birth to momentum. I began to excel in particular aspects of my work, and learned to put my weight behind them. It was only when I encountered my first obstacle that I truly understood the value of that momentum.

The air was taken from my sails. I was taken off stride, and everything around me came to a screeching halt. For me, it was a manager. Someone who either had more self-interest than compassion, or was explicitly hindering my progress. In a world of me-people, I assume the former.

The “Theory”

At the time, I sat down with a good friend and advisor(hi JP!). We mapped out the problem and came up with a half-baked theory - Momentum is the most important driving force in our lives. We agreed to design our worlds around it. To avoid obstacles at all costs rather than battle them. For, the fight wasn’t worth hindering our momentum.

The Commute

I often explain this theory with respect to my commute.

The streets of Toronto at rush hour act as a host for inconsideration. Some walk down the middle of the sidewalk. Others throw their shoulder into you as you pass. You can often find yourself caught like a salmon swimming upstream.

I avoid all obstacles. I walk on the street to pass, turn my profile to split pedestrians, and weave in and out as necessary.

All the while, I’m looking 15 feet ahead. I’m planning moves that aren’t yet needed. I’m considering paths that offer the least friction possible. Because once you slow down, getting back up to speed takes time and effort.

In my life, the theory holds true. There will be battles that are worth losing some momentum. But pick those battles wisely. There are far more paths than obstacles, and we each have the power to protect our momentum.

--

--

Adam Lacombe

I was built in the 90s with a soul much older. A city kid but my heart’s in the forest.