God’s New Camera: Hasselblad X2D 100C

Adam_Welch_Photographist
16 min readDec 24, 2022

“The free soul is rare, but you know it when you see it–because you feel good, very good, when you are near or with them.” — Charles Bukowski, Tales of Ordinary Madness

Apart from my deeply secretive co-ops with multiple international government entities…which I refuse to mention…I once lived an obscenely charmed life evaluating equally obscene amounts of photographic gear. Lenses, cameras, drones, tripods, filters, software, hardware, bags, and that one time I sold a picture of my feet…but that’s another story.

Then the wretched burnout began clawing for my throat. Everything felt the same. Regurgitating the same tired observations about the same tired products. I had become another tired cog in this big, greasy machine of photographic Tomfoolery albeit slowly and without conscious elucidation of my own dimming light.

I quit writing positions, began turning down collaboration offers that at one time I would dreamed to have before ultimately settling into a mode of quiet disillusionment with the entire “photo industry”.

Websites changed hands. Lifestyles evolved. I waded off towards the murky deep end of the creative pool to pursue more personal photographic endeavors.

But then…Hasselblad came calling again.

Or rather my old representative at Hasselblad sent me an email. I was asked if I would be interested in taking their brand new X2D 100C camera for a spin along with a brace of freshly updated XCD lenses. Without…

--

--

Adam_Welch_Photographist

One-time radiologic technologist turned photographic anti-hero and author. Nomadic in the United States.