TEMAZCAL: A Sacred Ritual Turned into an Initiation for Forgiveness

Adrianne Read
4 min readMay 11, 2023

Entering the Space of the Sacred Mushroom

Time to enter into the womb of Mother Earth in this ancient indigenous tradition of physical detoxification, prayer, fire and the symbolic rebirth. Enter in my own detox to prepare for the sacred cleansing of my spirit in the coming days. This ceremony enveloped physical, mental and spiritual elements, led by a Temazcalero who guided the proceedings according to ancient customs. Temezcal opens a space for personal reflection and can aid in the process to overcome personal difficulties. It did this for me and much more.

As the ceremony unfolds, songs and prayers are led by the guide as we were given an opportunity to follow along with a couple of the songs. There were herbs and copal resin being placed on the hot stones with water, with the opening of the door, four times. On a physical level, there are many benefits to be had from this type of ceremony: cleansing and purification; help with your respiratory system and breathing; improved blood flow and muscular system; and help reducing anxiety and stress.

Headed to Temazcal in the beautiful mountains of San Jose Del Pacifico, Mexico

For me the experience became much more emotional and spiritual in nature. In learning about plant medicine it’s been important for me to connect with indigenous ways and customs around these medicines so I can fully experience to the…

--

--

Adrianne Read

In vowing to remember who I am, standing in my own light, I am part of a movement that heals and connects humanity to the planet we live on.