Watch

A. E. Perez
3 min readJan 21, 2020
Photo by Heather Zabriskie on Unsplash

It is the highest form of responsibility, the faculty to tell time bestowed upon me when I reached eight years of age. The first mark of independence.

A burden passed from one generation to the next until it flooded with pool water on a summer day.

My true mark of teenage rebellion left on a shelf next to the window for the merciless sun to kill

The very first thing I programmed on my brand new Nokia Xpress Music on my birthday, that then I’ll leaved at home after realizing my social activities amounted to zero.

An urgency when I turned twenty-seven, regretting the time wasted all those years ago. The surprising pain of it resting on my wrist-bone the first few days, a pain now forever linked to the idea of taking control of my life.

It is the device that allows me to measure the infinite into seconds. A comfortable weight on my wrist bounding me to my work, my loved shackle.

The great divider of the day, from day to night. Hours, minutes to the ten seconds I used to take in between calls at work.

A tragedy when forgotten in a drawer, the lightness on my arm making me feel like a slacker.

In the middle of the office, if I don’t move too much — I can hear it’s tic-tac reminding me that I should drudge on and on and on.

--

--