From Laptop to Mountaintop: A Month-long Adventure of Remote Work

Agnieszka Krymska
3 min readFeb 28, 2023

--

Working remotely from the mountains was an experience that I will never forget. It was an adventure that I had been dreaming of for years, and I finally got the chance to make it happen.

At first, I was a bit hesitant to tell my boss about my plan to work from the mountains. I was worried that the internet and phone connection would not be stable, and I would be unable to work effectively. But I decided to take the chance and booked a month-long stay at a cozy hotel in the mountains.

From the moment I arrived, I knew I had made the right decision. The hotel was nestled in a picturesque location with stunning views of the mountains. Every morning, I would wake up to the sound of birds chirping outside my window, and the smell of fresh mountain air would fill my room.

The hotel had a lovely wooden café that served early breakfasts. I loved starting my day with a steaming cup of coffee and my laptop, enjoying the serene surroundings. I would often spend my lunch breaks in the hotel yard, surrounded by friendly cats. It was a refreshing way to take a break from work and soak in the peaceful mountain atmosphere.

One of my favorite things about my room was the lovely mansard windows. I would often spend hours just gazing out of them, taking in the beauty of the mountains. Although I didn’t have a personal kitchen, I was able to make simple meals using a little boilermaker that was provided in the room.

As the weeks went by, I witnessed the changing of the season from winter to spring. The mountains were transformed from a winter wonderland into a vibrant landscape of colorful wildflowers. On the weekends, I would go hiking and explore the mountains. One time, I got lost, but I was able to find my way back and laugh about it later.

There were also some challenges that came with working remotely in such a secluded location. I was responsible for planning business trips for VIP clients, which required a lot of focus and attention to detail. And when the power went out one day, I had to scramble to find an internet connection to complete my work. It was a stressful experience, but it taught me to be resourceful and creative.

Overall, my experience working remotely from the mountains was a once-in-a-lifetime adventure. It allowed me to escape the hustle and bustle of city life and immerse myself in the beauty of nature. I will always cherish the memories and look back on that time with fondness.

Have you ever considered working remotely from a unique and peaceful location like the mountains?
What kind of adventure would you choose for your remote work experience?

--

--

Agnieszka Krymska

I'm a digital nomad, writer, and adventurer. Join me as I share my experiences, insights, and tips for creating a life you love on the road.