Aikido Osae Waza Control or Pinning Techniques

Osae Waza is usually learned from Suwariwaza ‘sitting techniques’. Osae Waza means ‘control or pinning techniques’.

Imagine the point between ‘distance combat’ and ‘wrestling’. It is called the ‘struggle point’ of combat. Osae Waza is best used at this ‘struggle point’.

In this page I found some of Osensei’s photos doing the first Five Aikido Techniques Osae Waza.
I also added videos of Aikido Masters doing the same first Five Techniques. Notice the slight difference. Notice the similarities.
Notice that the first Five Techniques of Aikido are the most basic, yet they evolved.
What they all have in common is they are all Good Aikido.

Osae Waza starts from three positions

Suwariwaza — Both sitting

Tachiwaza — Both standing

Hanmi Handachi — One sitting and the other standing.

The first Five Aikido Techniques

The first Five Aikido Techniques are controlling or pinning techniques. You literally name them as you count them.

The first Five Aikido techniques are: Ikkyo (first lesson), nikyo, sankyo, yonkyo and gokyo (fifth lesson). They are usually learned from a static (kihon) sitting techniques called Suwariwaza.

The Yoshinkan school retains these Daitō ryū Aiki jūjutsu terms for the “first” through “fourth” lessons:

一ケ条 Ikkajo
二ケ条 Nikajo
三ケ条 Sankajo
四ケ条 Yonkajo

There are usually two points of movement in osae waza, Omote (front) or Ura (behind or vacuum).

Read more on Osae Waza (Aikido Pinning and Controlling Techniques)