Pokémon GO! — Mewtwo Event Concept

Albert Choi
5 min readJan 17, 2017

--

A follow-up to my 2.0 concept!

Mewtwo Event!

First off, thank you!

First, I would like to send my appreciation and gratitude to the Pokémon GO! and Reddit community. I have been overwhelmed with amazing support and feedback. I appreciate every read, post, comment, and share that I have received, so from the bottom of my heart, thank you again.

If you haven’t had a chance to check out my previous post, please let me know what you think!

More Events?

Just shortly after my first Medium post, Pokémon GO! released a series of tweets regarding feedback on past and future events. Now, I don’t know if that is a coincidence or not but I decided to take my own variation of what a legendary Pokémon event should look like!

The Mewtwo Event!

Mewtwo in Pokémon GO!

Mewtwo is one of the most powerful Pokémon in the game was artificially created by Giovanni. In Pokémon GO, I decided to use Professor Willow as a character that will help spawn this legendary Pokémon!

A New Event!

This will be a community based event! Trainers in Pokémon GO will see a banner appear while in the main world view showing a new event in available! When Trainers click on the banner, they will see a message from Professor Willow requiring assistance in retrieving some rare key items. These items will randomly appear from PokéStops and can be taken to special designated PokéStop locations (they will have a star instead of the traditional Poké Ball logo) in where Professor Willow can start his research and experiments.

Here comes a new event!

Event Items!

I have decided to go with 2 specific items Professor Willow is in search of. These items may help Willow replicate and recreate the legendary Pokémon, Mewtwo!

Unknown DNA: The DNA is not registered in any of Professor Willow’s research and in any archives. He knows that they exist and it is up to the Trainers to search and retrieve these rare items!

Unknown Fossil: The unknown fossil may not be of Mewtwo’s but the origins are a mystery. These fossils may help replicate the creation of Mewtwo!

Event PokéStops!

As stated previously, the key items Professor Willow is searching for can be found at any PokéStop locations! More importantly, this will be a community based event! Which means that Trainers (regardless which team you are on), will have to work together to help Professor Willow retrieve the items he needs. After obtaining the items, you can head to a special PokeStop (will have a star) to transfer these items to Professor Willow! Professor Willow will require 250 of each item to complete his experiment. The more items you transfer to Prof. Willow, you will recieve bonus XP for your hard work! Once the target is reached, you will be rewarded…

Spin those PokéStops for those items!

Mewtwo has been created!

Once Professor Willow retrieves all the items he needs, his experiment will unleash the powerful Mewtwo! This will be Trainer’s opportunity to catch the legendary Mewtwo!

*Note that Mewtwo will only be available for 30 minutes, however for those Trainers that transfer 5 of each item to Willow and miss the opportunity, Mewtwo will be available at the PokeStop for you, unless another spawn occurs afterwards. Also, I don’t know where these PokéStops will be located but we will make sure it is the most strategic places!

Here’s Mewtwo!

Final Thoughts

I would love this to come to life, imagine hundreds and thousands of people trying to capture Mewtwo. Hopefully this bring the same amount the hype and excitement that we all saw when this game first released!

Again, thank you to the community for all the support. I love designing concepts for you and I hope you enjoy it. I’m hoping Niantic has some amazing things to come. They have the infrastructure and talent to do it. I have no doubt in my mind that they have something special for you! Until then, thank you for supporting me and I hope this adds a little bit of pressure on Niantic to give what the community wants. I hope they are listening! As for me, if you have any questions, feedback or concerns, please don’t hesitate to contact me! I appreciate the support and thanks again. I hope to see you all soon!

Check out the concept I did featuring the Legendary birds!

From Eevee and I,

--

--