Using ChatGPT In My Daily Work

Aleksander Lütken
3 min readJan 17, 2023

How I Use ChatGPT To Help Me In My Day-To-Day Work

I often have to google simple SAS or Python functions that I keep forgetting, and it may take quite some time to find what I’m looking for. Therefore, in this article, I will ask ChatGPT to help me with my code.

ChatGPT is an open-source model developed by OpenAI that can be used by anyone. When asking it questions, it will interact in a conversational way. However, keep in mind that the current version of ChatGPT is trained on data up until 2021. So it can’t provide answers that require information from later than 2021. You can read more about it here: https://openai.com/blog/chatgpt/

Anyway, lets test it out! I will ask ChatGPT to create a function that convert character values into datetime values in Python:

ChatGPT starts by providing an example code (with the possibility to copy) before it explains what the code does. Since it interacts in a conversational way, you can build the conversation on what you have asked about before. For example, lets ask it to write a data step in SAS with the same purpose (converting a character value to datetime):

--

--

Aleksander Lütken

Analytics Consultant | Data Science Enthusiast | Writing About Data Science Topics.