$ALEX Token Sale: Recap, Early Lessons, MetaCartel citizenship

Alex Masmej
4 min readApr 15, 2020

--

Thank you everyone!

The sale lasted 5 days only (versus 2 weeks as originally planned), so I am blown away by the support! It got some attention from The Block, CoinTelegraph and DeFi Rate among others, which I didn’t expect, but upon reflection, it makes sense: I am the first human to ever do a personal token sale on Ethereum. (note: the amazing James Gallagher & Mr. Mike Merrill did ISA raises before me— just without any crypto component).

The uniqueness of crypto for this experiment is transparency, secondary markets, utility aspect, derivatives and other platforms leveraging #DeFi. It also made it really simple to execute.

The personal token space is about to explode, this sale being the tip of the iceberg for an entirely new way of raising money. It won’t be just crypto entrepreneurs like myself, but also a new way for content creators, artists, freelancers, athletes, influencers and more to raise funding. I know of a lot of people wanting to tokenize themselves, and founders wanting to launch a personal token platform, the latest one being MeTokens.

Some stats about my sale

  • There was a total of 30 shareholders, raising a total of precisely $20,092
  • 19 shareholders entered via stablecoins (DAI or USDC), 11 via ETH
  • The average contribution was $800 (minimum: $250)
  • The biggest contribution was $2500
  • The $ALEX airdrop, done via MultiSend, can be found here
  • The address containing the funds is “Masmejean.eth

Note: only this sale benefits from the ISA “15% income” part. Uniswap $ALEX does not count, but still has some utility described in other articles.

I want to thank the amazing Ethereans who participated in this first ever human token sale. You all made history!

Note: some people chose not to be publicly mentioned.

  • Bradley Miles & Sid Kalla, Roll
  • Dan Finlay, MetaMask
  • Calvin Chu
  • Philip Silva, BrightID
  • Dillon Chen, Commonwealth
  • Vincent Niu, DappReview
  • Vignesh Sundaresan, Lendroid
  • Griff Green, Commons Stack
  • Simon Polrot, ADAN
  • Bobby Ong, CoinGecko
  • Ofer Rotem, Collider Ventures
  • Coder Dan, Bullionix
  • Scott Sanderson, Sanderson IP Law Ltd
  • Pascal Tallarida, Jarvis Exchange
  • Harith Kamarul, Etherscan
  • Sky Minert, Skymine Labs
  • Ben Du Peloux, MANA-Vox
  • Joseph Christopherson, Atlas City
  • Chris Furlong, Blockstar Studio
  • Igor Barbashin, BRILL
  • Eli Hanover
  • $SCOTT, scottentrepreneur.eth
  • Above Average Joe, aboveaveragejoe.eth
  • @CodePhobic
  • wes.eth

A huge thank to them for betting on me. Also, special thanks to Cooper Turley from DeFiRate for helping me structure the initial Medium article and give feedback on the model.

I have a takeaway to share since I started diving deeper into crypto 9 months ago.

Lesson: in crypto, community is everything (especially MetaCartel)

Raising money itself wasn’t the hard part

Technically, it was pretty straightforward: a ERC-20 token, adding liquidity on Uniswap and a Google Form. For my crypto-native community, it was super straightforward.

Community is the real key.

I have been involved with MetaCartel since the start of my journey in crypto, and this is a proof of how helpful their help was. I owe this community and Peter ‘pet3rpan’ a lot.

MetaCartel was there at every milestone of my crypto journey

  • MetaCartel summoner Peter Pan gave me a loan to Berlin without even knowing me, over a tweet(!), ultimately leading myself to make a last-minute trip to Berlin Blockchain Week, connecting with the international Ethereum community for the first time. Most importantly, that loan was tokenized, which connected me with Roll, who issued the $ALEX token!
  • MetaCartel was partly the reason why I joined Marketing DAO as a founding member and membership lead. Ameen Soleimani got me in the initial group and my DAO background definitely helped.
  • MetaCartel gave me a grant for my first project, Rocket NFT, instantly, no question asked.
  • MetaCartel gave me a grant for RESET Everything to support me, without me even asking for one!

Thank you Peter Pan, James Young, Drew Harding, James Waugh, Cooper Turley, Alex Hoffman, Ven Gist and the rest of the MetaCartel community that is strong of 60+ members 🌶

I’ll forever be a MetaCartel member and I’m looking forward to the next few years together.

The French version of the MetaCartel Logo

More broadly, thank you to everyone in the Ethereum community that I ever interacted with. Looking forward to reinventing finance (DeFi), governance (DAO) and ownership (NFT) with all of you!

Next, I’m doing a crypto startup and moving to San Francisco. Gotta work now!

$ALEX

--

--

Alex Masmej

Founder Rocket, part of MetaCartel, founding member Marketing DAO, member Stake Capital DAO. @AlexMasmej on Twitter