Introducing the $ALEX Yield Round

Alex Masmej
4 min readAug 3, 2020

--

We don’t do seed rounds with personal tokens. We skip straight to yield.

$ALEX has gone a long way since its human IPO

In March this year, I did the first human IPO on Ethereum via a token named “$ALEX”. Having a contract cut due to COVID, I asked for $20,000 via an Income Sharing Agreement of 15% for 3 years as a small founder safety net, and to my delight it sold in 5 days. Following its success, I’ve done other experiments with $ALEX since, all driving utility to the same token:

$ALEX is currently trading on Uniswap, with a market cap of ~$330,000.

In theory, as I plan to keep experimenting with $ALEX, its price should reflect my potential career success; my goal is to be a founder of a hypergrowth, profitable company that changes the world.

In practice, $ALEX price seems to be tied to how active I am at a given moment as an Ethereum community member; although it’s not a perfect proxy, it’s relatively accurate to how much progress I’m making, as long as I keep making any career move public. My token price has been steadily rising; so I believe is my reputation gained in the crypto space over time.

Career-wise, I’m in early stages of doing a neobank DeFi startup. More soon about this!

$ALEX Price since my human IPO // Source: CoinGecko

Personal (& community tokens) are heating up

Since my token launched, awesome projects are proliferating in the space, whether other personal tokens like $KERMAN or $SWAGG, NFT collector $WHALE, and now community tokens like $KARMA and $JAMM, which require a certain amount to join their community. The last 2 use abridged.io holders-only chats and all of them used Roll. There seems to be a product-market-fit emerging with those two platforms for creators and communities to interact in new ways, and that’s bullish for the space.

The main takeaway for those newer tokens is that small market caps can drive a quick bull run if you have a community willing to support you. It is one of the best way to gather interest around your community: making your early fans instant returns incentivizes them to become your best supporters.

But for $ALEX, wide-set distribution has always been a goal of mine: I gained popularity by giving tokens to investors and friends, rather than keeping supply scarce to provoke buy pressure. There were always quite a lot of tokens on the open market (e.g. I sold 1M $ALEX in my $20k sale). So I want to experiment the next frontier of personal tokens: now that I have an engaged audience, I want to incentivize liquidity.

Enter the $ALEX Yield Round

Despite having Roll and myself pool 20 ETH of ETH from Day 1, large buy orders still incur a vast amount of slippage. This needs to be addressed in order to allow larger participants to come in.

Solution: I want to increase its liquidity by incentivizing ALEX/ETH Uniswap V2 liquidity providers, by far the most popular pool so far.

This is beneficial for all parties involved for many reasons:

  • It’s long-term oriented, as people will be able to buy $ALEX without largely impacting the price, and capitalize on my potential today. As of today, a 2.5 ETH purchase of $ALEX would have a price impact of over 5%.
  • It’s a way to efficiently distribute more $ALEX in a fair and continuous manner, without flooding the market. 6M+ tokens are still held by Roll, which is most of its total supply, 10 million. More people will be allowed to bet on me as more tokens enter the market.
  • It helps price discovery, as more liquidity will mean more participants contributing to price $ALEX .
  • If this works out, it’s a virtuous circle where people on-the-fence regarding an $ALEX position now have an extra reason to stack $ALEX, and I might convert more people. Holders turn out to be very helpful in many ways, and instantly create a relationship with myself. All these benefits help me thrive as a young founder.

The liquidity mining experiment in details

  • 100,000 $ALEX will be rewarded to Uniswap V2 ALEX/ETH LP’s, proportionally to their position via an airdrop
  • Anyone holding UNI-V2 $ALEX tokens (generated when you supply ALEX/ETH liquidity on Uniswap V2) from 8th August to 8th September UTC Time will be eligible for the reward.
  • After the end of this experiment, the following months rewards is TBA; $ALEX reward might change or it could be another token to be airdropped if protocol tokens want to market their token via $ALEX (reach out!)
  • LP’s who remain in the pool for the entirety of the month will receive their respective rewards shortly after

How to participate? Links:

👉 Add liquidity here to participate in the $ALEX Yield Round 👈

👉 To buy $ALEX before adding liquidity, buy it here👈

Thank you all for believing in this project, and pushing this primitive forward. If this concept scales, this could revolutionize talent sourcing. I am very confident that this incoming trend will one day help millions of creators, founders, artists, politicians and athletes fulfill their potential and connect with their community.

$ALEX

--

--

Alex Masmej

Founder Rocket, part of MetaCartel, founding member Marketing DAO, member Stake Capital DAO. @AlexMasmej on Twitter