No, You Are Not Losing Followers

Or, at least, that’s what I hear…

Alex Praytor
3 min readJul 21, 2022
Photo by Jack Finnigan on Unsplash

Since I’ve started writing at more regular intervals, I’ve also gained more followers… I only know because I keep getting alerts and emails from Medium telling me. However, it’s been a “take one step forward and two steps back” kind of deal.

The number of followers fluctuates faster than the rate of inflation.

At first, I thought I must have written something offensive. Maybe people don’t like reading about stinky skunks and dogs? Is that it? I shouted into the midnight air.

But the moon just looked back with its mouth wide open like always. Either it was taken off-guard by the question or it was waiting for me to turn away so it could shove another cookie into its pie-hole, I’m not certain.

Then I thought, No, that can’t be it. (Self-esteem always comes to my rescue.) Maybe, it’s those writers that announce that Medium ain’t what it once was and are leaving have finally kept their word. Is a mass exodus going on here? Still, new Medium fans seem to be joining every day and none of the big names were ever my followers, anyway.

Or, maybe they are doing another crackdown on those highlight happy bots? A system purge. This could be part of it, I guess.

--

--

Alex Praytor

Writer, traveler, and avid coffee drinker. Originally from Texas, I've made Romania my home for 10+ years. https://ko-fi.com/alexpray