Alexandra Tara Reade, J.D.
8 min readApr 6, 2019

--

A Girl Walks into the Senate…

My Time with Biden’s Senate Office

“As flies to wanton boys, are we to the Gods; they kill us for their sport.” William Shakespeare

I am not a “snowflake.” I like to be touched, a lot. I am an affectionate person. However, I like to decide who touches me and when. I did not understand or have the words back then to describe how I felt, but only sensed power moves and body language that I did not like. There was not yet the framework as there is now.

I did not like Joe Biden’s hand on me not for the reasons you think, it is because I am the alpha in the room too. Again, I like to be the one who chooses who enters my space and in what way.

We are sexual beings and we are all trying to figure out how to express this aspect of ourselves at work and home lives, it is a journey our society is on right now. But this is not only a story about sexual misconduct; it is a story about abuse of power. It is a story about when a member of Congress allows staff to threaten or belittle or bully on their behalf unchecked to maintain power rather than modify the behavior.

I had been approached in college by a political science professor to apply for an internship in a Congressional Office. After working as an intern in Washington D.C., I caught the political operative bug and worked on campaigns. I applied at then, Senator…

--

--

Alexandra Tara Reade, J.D.

Writer, Actress, Poet, Educator, Non Profit Management, Former Legislative Aide for the U.S. Senate alexandrareade.com