The Politics of Standing in Your Truth: Is Joe Biden the Blue Trump?

Alexandra Tara Reade, J.D.
4 min readJan 23, 2020

By Alexandra Tara Reade
“Lead, follow or get out of the way.” Thomas Paine

The picture above is the last photo of me before moving to Washington D.C. After the article about my experience working as a Joe Biden staffer came out in the media and the pro-Russia blog I wrote, went viral, there was an immediate, brutal fallout attack on me. I received threats on my life via phone and email. A thread started on twitter calling me a traitor. I lost income/freelance work from the negative viral tweets. A writer from the Atlantic and a law professor (former Biden staffer in the White House) Richard Painter teamed up for the hit pieces. The viral articles calling me out as a Russian agent swirled on the internet.

I guess Joe Biden’s campaign figured rather than address what happened, they would just have a supporter call me a Russian agent to knock me out of the conversation. Joe Biden also announced recently that he would have accusers calling him corrupt investigated by the CIA and FBI.

--

--

Alexandra Tara Reade, J.D.

Writer, Actress, Poet, Educator, Non Profit Management, Former Legislative Aide for the U.S. Senate alexandrareade.com