A Personal Update

Alice Huiwen
2 min readDec 15, 2021

--

Photo by Myriam Zilles on Unsplash

Last week, I accepted another internal transfer offer. Yes, another one. I moved job-family only four months ago, yet I just made another move already. Crazy? Probably.

I didn’t expect to move so soon either. A hiring manager approached me unexpectedly in October. He manages a machine learning team that focuses on building a personalized eCommerce experience. I loved to learn more about eCommerce because that’s what made Amazon Amazon. The idea of enhancing the eCommerce shopping experience using machine learning and experiments excites me. This new job will also allow me to take on more technical responsibilities by working with DS and SDE. So I took it.

It was not an easy decision. I spent all six years after college laser-focused on marketing and advertising. Moving to a new business in data seemed too big of a transition. I wasn’t just going for a hard reset — I also had abandoned everything I established in advertising over the years: I executed campaigns in an agency trading desk with millions of digital budgets. I did end-to-end programmatic campaign management, from trafficking creatives to building analytics dashboards. I also managed a book with millions of ad dollars and excelled at building product solutions. In Ads organization, many people already know my work before knowing me.

I didn’t need to leave. I wanted to go.

Six years is a long enough time to learn the ins and outs of programmatic advertising. So now it’s time for a change. I’m determined to make this seemingly spontaneous move a deliberate strategy. I don’t have the know-how yet, nor do I have any clue how to deliver great work in the new job. But one thing the experience taught me is I can only find out by trying. I’ll keep trying.

My 2022 New Year’s resolution is to keep journaling at least once a month. I invite you to embark on this new chapter with me.

--

--

Alice Huiwen

I write about my life and thoughts in both Chinese and English. 我用中英文兩種語言記錄我的生活,創作我的思考。