Alison Challoner-Jones
2 min readAug 27, 2016

How much free stuff do you do? I mean, completely free. Unconditionally gratis. No questions. No ‘reciprocal’ this or obligatory exchange. How much?

Just thinking out loud here… as it’s something I found incredibly difficult to comprehend when I first became self employed. I was used to the concept in my personal life, in business? No! I wanted to squeeze every penny, every favour and return possible.

Here’s the thing (and it took me by surprise!) the more I gave when I was able and time allowed without any expectation, the more i got in return. Hang on, there’s a confusing caveat here and it must have taken a good couple of years to get my head around this part….. the return would come from all corners and rarely from the person to whom I gave my time in the first place. You need to understand that bit.

Now, there’s a number of other things to consider just to complicate the theory further (it’s works though, don’t go yet) my business involves MOSTLY time and effort so giving is dependant on how much of that is available. ALSO and this is the biggest hurdle for most. There’s some real ‘special characters’ out there who will gladly fleece you for all you’re worth. So be sensible, don’t be disheartened, learn from errors and keep on giving.

You’ll feel good, satisfied, rewarded and I PROMISE this karma thing really does work. Don’t make a big deal about it or widely publicise these acts. Just do it, know in your mind deep down you done good.

No matter how much good and giving you throw out, it’ll keep coming back whether you like it or not.

Enjoy the weekend folks

Aly x

I’d love to write to you weekly, with my tips on digital marketing and living, working and and enjoying fanily life remotely from a smart phone

Alison Challoner-Jones

Veggie | Skier | Entrepreneur | #Digital Wizard | Coach | #StartUps #Ambassador | Rockstar Parent | Owner @mediaseedco