Grownupicity

Doreen Nwankwo//Blogger
6 min readAug 9, 2023

--

For anyone who listens to the I Said What I Said Podcast by FK and Jola, that word is not strange. I strongly believe that it deserves a spot in the Oxford dictionary with the meaning “The act of being an adult”.

Running away from this world if I get a chance to.

I had thought hard about the title to give this post. I had made attempts to write a “Glorious come back post”, after saving my ink for the past seven months. In all honesty, I didn’t know exactly what to write or how to perfectly express my thoughts. On the occasions where I actually had the time to write, I saved the posts in my draft until it was no longer relevant in the particular season.

You know how people tell you that whatever you put out to the internet becomes everyone’s business. What if you don’t want anybody in your business but you still need a platform to pour out your mind? Maybe that was the essence of Twitter, sorry X.

It is actually pinching my body that my favourite app is no longer what it used to be. My timeline is messed up with people’s unsolicited thoughts; people that I don’t even know or follow. Everybody wants to be a ‘Banger Boy/Girl’- a term used to describe people who tweet to chase clout i.e in order to get engagements. And when the tweets eventually go wild, twitter assumes I’d be interested and then I see it on my timeline.

And now, certain people are being paid in Dollars for meeting certain twitter requirements. Shout out to Sir. Elon Musk.

You know, the rich keep getting richer and the poor might never understand why. Using this smart man as an example……… He bought a company, created features that entice people to pay for the premium version. A lot of people were shouting at him, even though he obviously couldn’t hear them or maybe he did hear the lamentations and cries but he chose to run his newly acquired company anyhow he likes. It was giving, ‘If you are not satisfied, you are free to stop using my app. I bought it with my money!’

It didn’t end there, as a matter of fact, it felt like the Bible Parable of the Ten Virgins where only the ‘wise’ ones followed the bridegroom to the wedding banquet, leaving the foolish to look for oil for their lamp.

Oga(Sir) Elon started paying people on twitter and now, everywhere is in chaos. People have started subscribing to Twitter Blue with the hope that they meet the other requirements in order to get paid. Guess what, they might not get the required number of impressions but Sir Elon would make Bastard money from their adrenaline instigated actions.

I honestly believe this is discrimination against people who do not own a dollar account, unemployed fellows and andriod users.

*Sorry for the laugh*

Back to what I was saying, I felt like I was sharing too much and it would be better to work on myself rather than spend hours writing the update of my life that no one asked for.

I went through a phase, not as terrible as my usual phases. This one was a Self development phase. One where I needed to interact more with the world than my imaginary friends in my head, one where I needed to listen or read more than I spoke, one where I needed to go back to my drawing board and restrategise on what path to follow since I now identify as an adult who is responsible for her life, one where I depend solely on GOD because I no wan crase (I don’t want to run mad), one where I learn from peoples experiences, one where I bind and cast the spirit of crying from any slight provocation, one where I let go of any toxic relationship/persons, one where I mind my own business and drink water. Most importantly, one where I choose the direction of my life.

There was a time when little things could make a person extremely excited. That childlike spirit that I wish never went. The enthusiasm in going to places and seeing friends. The joy that comes with getting things done and killing it. The peace that comes with accomplishing tasks and hearing someone say “I’m proud of you”.

These days, the reaction to good stuff is “Okay, what’s next?

Even when the things you’ve pleaded with Whoever(deity) you believe in comes to pass, you are not fascinated anymore. Instead, you create a new goal that you want to smash. I think life happens fast.

I think that sometimes, people are not allowed to just live especially in a country like Nigeria where one day, you are a millionaire and the next day, you wake up to loose tons of money due to foreign exchange or new laws or whatever opps(opposition). There is literally no breathing space to enjoy the moment.

Even when you begin to enjoy the moment, you feel chills in your spine like you are doing something wrong and you should get back to work. This might not apply to everybody especially those who spend other peoples money(which is actually sweeter and I highly recommend). But for people who work their ass off to make ends meet, especially in a system that barely favours them, its normal.

I might not take my own advise but maybe you could take it. Just live sometimes.

I have a friend who always tells me how asides being a student at this age, we shouldn’t be doing anything else. He makes out time to explore places which is cute and all. But imagine the pressure you get when you open LinkedIn and a 17 year old is schooling other people on how to acquire a house in Banana Island, a Corolla 2022, a 9 figure business, and a Ph.d.

All in all, I really hope we all get the opportunity to enjoy life cause it’s actually too short. I hope we see reasons to celebrate the little wins. I hope we get to experience good food, friendship, love and the lifestyle we have always imagined. I just hope we live more.

I know our parents made it seem very easy to be an adult and sometimes we overthink these things but for Gen Z, we also know how to persevere and fight for what we want.

So, cheers to living.

This is my first post on here that isn’t in a publication.

Doreen smiling in a pink dress, wearing a nude coloured pair of glasses and knotless braids.

So, Hi! I’m Doreen and I am pleased to be officially here. I’d love to know you too in the comments.

I’d be writing from time to time about just anything that could interest you. Ranging from career to experiences to humour and to lifestyle in general.

Nice to meet you and I hope we both have a good time here.

I heard you could clap as many times as possible and I’d love you to indulge me by clapping, sharing and following if you like this content and don’t hesitate to share your thoughts.

Till next time.

Stay jiggy and God bless you.

--

--

Doreen Nwankwo//Blogger

I write, create content, and make dresses while studying to become a Badass Lawyer.